Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Earth Beast - Mava - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My entry for "Your are the villain" is: Earth Beast

After suffering at the hands of humans for many years, the Earth Mother has summoned a creature from the depths to destroy humanity.

You play as this creature who emerges from a sewer into a modern city looking to wipeout the human parasite from the world!

Created using flixel, the dragon is homage to the many retro-amiga dragons in the past that I really adored. In particular the one from First Samurai! I did some stuff to make his back arcing for various gameplay reasons but I'm pretty happy with the end result.

There is also night and day cycle, something which I thought I'd add after it appeared on the potential theme list.

Its arcadey gameply and features leveling up with progression by making your dragon bigger each time. But watch out for those pesky humans and their weapons!

Note: damage is only taken on the HEAD of the dragon so you can evade effectively for the most part.

I look forward to comments, the art in particular was very difficult for me :) Would love to see peoples scores and levels too.

My aim was also to make a subjective villain, are you on the side of humans or the earth? Has the earth gone too far by summoning a monster? You decide!

This is my first submission so I hope I have used dropbox correctly too (please let me know otherwise). All art is mine except for the Flixel default font and basic shapes (rectangular health bar for example).

EDIT: I have Goats in the game too! They give more points if you kill'em :)

View Mava's journal. | View all entries by Mava

Ratings

Coolness77%
#17Fun3.88
#69Overall3.63
#132Theme3.74
#157Audio3.05
#163Mood3.20
#179Graphics3.47
#213Innovation3.19
#267Humor2.82

Comments

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:16am

It's a good game

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:34am

Ace! It needed more hints and flags though!

Winterblood says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:26pm

Good job Mava :) Gets a bit mental by level 9, would be nice to be able to move your head and cursor independently so you could dodge and shoot at the same time. Great fun though!

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:42pm

I really enjoyed that. You have a good amount of variety in it and the pacing is nice (just as I thought I'd give up, you added something new). Would be nice if you could damage the buildings and a secondary attack would be really nice.

01010111 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:48pm

Great job! I loved the dragon, gameplay was fun, and I'm downloading the source to check out how you got that dialog to work :) If you spent more time on this, I would have loved a more destructible level!

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:56pm

Thanks for the comments :) once I had the gameplay sorted the possibilities were endless! I really wanted powerups and a tank too, maybe next time!

saampahlavan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:04pm

I really like the progression of getting taller as you leveled up

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Really really liking the presentation and aesthetic of this game! The graphics style is really rad, and the simple but yet challenging and fun gameplay makes it really enjoyable to play.

Yogr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:10pm

Very nice! Loved the level ups making the neck grow. My one request is an auto attack with mouse-down so I don't break my mouse button/finger! Had fun playing, got to level 19

sharbelfs says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:11pm

I really enjoyed the game, very good =)
Congratulation!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:11pm

I really like this kind of Button mashing gameplay. It's good to have a break from all this jump & runners :).

tomvert says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:42pm

I loved the retro/arcade feeling, the sound, the movement of the beast.

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:59pm

This has a really great feel to it. It really does feel like a mix between a retro arcade hall game and a godzilla type movie. Very nice!

mokujin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:06pm

So calm music at background, when gigant worm destroying city and killing everyone) I like it)

Biped says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Great idea.

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:17am

I like the blend of shooting/avoiding bullets that you achived in this game. It could imho use some "tuchou" gameplay style though - with the head smaller, faster movement and more bullets it really could become some kind of two-side, defense, bullet hell

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:31am

Super fun. Love the art. Unique concept. Very fun.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:02am

I love this game! My finger gave out at level 17. Loved the dragon head and watching it move around and the increasing difficulty. Very well done game and perfect for 48 hours. I would keep working on this and add more to it.

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:10am

Very fun game! I personally felt the graphics could have been more consistent (The style of the beast vs the buildings/helicopters/people seemed very different). Having the fireball sprites rotate to be facing the direction they're travelling in would've added a nice effect as well. Overall though, great work! :)

sclark39 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:11am

Love the dodging mechanic.

markengley says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:11pm

Great effort - especially getting the full intro/graphics/sound in there.

Love how old school this one is.

lorancou says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Very retro! The controls are great, congrats!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Man, you are the earth and play with a giant monster. How more cool can you get?
Great job! :)

Oreganik says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:35am

Solid! "Lost my head" at level 17. I noted with some amusement that there were 5 zeroes in front my score. I'd pay to see a gaming marathon get to THAT score. =D Interesting mechanic, well implemented. Definite bonus points for a subtle musical score.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:09am

Very nice point-and-click shooter, very well executed, and nice graphics. Well done!

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:31pm

fun music and art! Goat! Dig the gameplay, nice job!

PapyGaragos says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:54pm

really liked it :)

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:23pm

This was a nice game.
It was great mechanics with the head and the level up stuff.
I'll never walk over one of those sewer hatches again!

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Really good fun. It properly felt like I was playing as an end-game boss, having to take out enemies while protecting my weak point. Cursor was a bit hard to see at times, and it'd be nice if you could hold down the mouse to fire continuously.

Niavlys says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:14pm

Graphics are good! The idea is nice too, and your game is very well done. In my opinion there is just a little problem with the gameplay: I would like to be able to shoot down to the ground when I'm at a high level, currently it seems I'm forced to lower my head to the ground if I want to shoot pedestrians.

Colapsydo says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:25am

It was fun, but maybe an autofire could save a lot of mouse in the world.
I like the dragon which look like some kind of space harrier shenron (I don't konw this amiga samurai).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]