December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Castle of Doom

by vivavolt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as the castle attempting to stop heroic knights from rescuing the princess held within your walls.

Controls:
Mouse: select active enemy
Space: use enemy ability
R: Restart level
To retry a level after failing or proceed to the next level, just click.

Source is included in the windows download. Made in MMF2 (and not commented), so be prepared for that I guess.

Postmortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/16/first-ld-castle-of-doom-a-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#43Theme4.02
#55Fun3.61
#71Audio3.38
#83Mood3.42
#93Humor3.43
#114Innovation3.50
#124Overall3.48
#335Graphics3.02

Comments

HBurd says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:34am

Love the music!

GameRespect says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:38am

I like it! Its fun :D a little on the short side though.

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:38am

The music was really hilarious, too bad it stops playing after resetting the level.

rylgh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:40am

niceeee i love the sfx and beatboxing

ming_tea says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:40am

I had a blast playing this, kudos!

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44am

I got through all level using cannon spamming, not sure if it is intended ;D

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:48am

Your audio-work is awesome ;)
The basic game mechanics are really nice. It is really difficult though. It feels like one has to be nearly perfect to reach the next level. Also the cannons feel a bit unbalanced because they can do the majority of damage.
But the "handdrawn-graphics" together with the unique sounds make it really a nice game to play.

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:59am

Best game I've played so far!! Great job!

impulse9 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04am

Lol! Great music and sound effects! Funny game as well!

mamoniem says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:01am

i enjiyed this funny one :) you are so talnted @ music :D

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:12am

Very enjoyable, loved the music

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:04am

Very nice game. I really like how you handled the music.

lekiy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:53am

Web link wouldn't load..

vids says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:07am

4+ across the board! Good work!

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:53am

This was really fun, good job!

NuSan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:41am

Cool, realy difficult too, and it took my a minute to understand that i wasnt the nice knight but the master of evil creature ^^

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:03am

Very fun game! Might be good to add a cooldown to the cannon. :P

Drabiter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:34am

Floor spike maybe useless, he slashes it before jumps into it. But the audio is good. Is that you who do the rap? :)

Tifu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:01pm

Good game. I think the only problem is that when an enemy/trap is destroyed, you automatically select the next one - this resulted in me, for example, pressing space to try to activate a skull bomb, but the knight destroys it, and I instantly set off the next trap :(

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:25pm

I love this more than I have a right to! The art style and your voice/music track is - awesome. Could definitely see this as a real game with lots of levels and trying to 3-star levels, etc, like Angry Birds. Lots of potential here. Explore it! Would work on some of the mechanics a little. I had trouble damaging the Knight enough and some of the traps seemed ineffective. Totally fixable, though. Love it.

ananasblau says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:59pm

Self-sampled music, great one :)

rumachine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:22pm

that was really great, love the music

munchor says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:28pm

Love everything about it. Reminds me of Deathrun Mod from Counter Strike 1.6, but applied to a 2D Platformer. Timing is tough to get right, what a brilliant entry!

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:59pm

5/5 Audio. Easily! Gosh, it's so much fun.

I really like the concept, and it is fun to play. And watch. The graphics are adorable.

I'd love to have a little bit more strategy instead of just reaction, but I dunno about any concrete mechanics there myself. Oh, and I'm not sure why I can't just click on them to trigger!

All in all, a really enjoyable game.

Sestren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:40am

The cannons rock. Love the beatboxing and the humor in this game.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:52pm

I like the variety in the ennemies we control.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:14pm

One of the best implementations of villain-sets-the-stage mechanics I've seen!

lexaloffle says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:35am

The chomping is strangely satisfiying

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]