Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Weapons of Mass Construction - dan.jeffrey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**MADE A FEW QUICK CHANGES TO LEVELS FOR LESS OP AND MORE MINDBOGGLING STUFF, PLAY "FIXED" VERSION FOR THESE CHANGES***

Also, make sure to read the post-mortem! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/19/weapons-of-mass-construction-a-post-mortem/

You are a malevolent god who wants to stop all good guys in the world.

The good guys have gotten lazy and have created a robot to do the work for them: the Heroic Emulated Redeemer Object (or H.E.R.O. for short.) They have mass-produced them and sent them out through teleporters to save Princess Goat. Your goal is to STOP THE ROBOTS FROM SAVING THE DAY!

(Btw, the problem I needed to fix is that I gave myself 999 of each item for testing purposes and forgot to change it back on one of the levels, so it goes)

Tools used:
GameMaker
SFXR
GraphicsGale Free
Paint.NET
LabChirp

PROTIP: Make sure and let H.E.R.O. run through the level without obstructions before you try and solve so you know what path he'll take!

This is also the first game I've ever completed so yay.

View dan.jeffrey's journal. | View all entries by dan.jeffrey

Ratings

Coolness66%
#36Fun3.72
#49Overall3.72
#81Innovation3.66
#120Mood3.30
#137Humor3.23
#178Theme3.63
#182Audio2.97
#203Graphics3.39

Comments

arkeus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:59am

I like the idea a lot. There are quite a few places where it seems like the solution is easier than it should be (given 2 or 3 spikes and it only takes one), but outside of that it's really neat.

leothecool says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04am

Pretty fun, I wish i could click the portal to make him start so I wouldn't have to take my hand off the mouse.

netgrind says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:06am

That was a cool little game. I found a few spots where I couldn't place spikes where I should have been able too, not quite sure why...

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:10am

[b]netgrind[/b]

I had to put in some spots where obstacles couldn't be placed to avoid some exploits. Kinda cheap copout, but I needed to get the game done. :P

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:13am

To add on to that , the bomb is really OP :D

TheCze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:19am

Game is really well done, however I think I saw a game with exactly the same idea recently somewhere else (I think it was a Double Fine Amnesia Fortnight concept).

apophenia says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:26am

Really like this. Haven't gotten all the way through, but one thing I notice is that if you're given two of the blue guys, you can almost always destroy H.E.R.O. just by putting them in the two adjacent squares next to the portal that deploys him.

Also would be cool if the spikes displayed inverted when hovering underneath a surface to make it easier to visualize.

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:29am

Make sure to beat it, the ending will make you shed tears!

dcolgan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:30am

Awesome awesome game! It felt like a legit finished product. And it kept me interested long enough to completely finish it. The ending was a bit anticlimactic, but I wasn't exactly expecting a deep plot for a puzzle game. One minor nitpick is that it seems like the bomb guys make some of the later levels too easy. I didn't need to use the other items sometimes and could just put a bomb out and it would eat the robot.

The bomb guys are hilarious, by the way.

Excellent job! Especially for your first game ever!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:32am

This was pretty cool and well done, congratulations.

And like someone said, it would have been really useful to make it start with space or clicking on the portal.

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:33am

neat little game, I liked the graphics and sound.
the flag graphic could use some work, but everything else looks good.
Also you can place bombs at the beginning and they kill the hero really easy >:)

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:33am

dcolgan-Thank you very much!

(and the bomb guys were easily my favorite part, hence why they're the icon!)

Anyways, with the bomb fellows, the thing is I programmed everything in first, then made the levels. The bombs were the last thing to implement and by that time I wanted to focus on making a finished product rather than polish. Plus, when you know the solution that you made up for the level, you don't notice its faults. 'Twas fun to make though!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:34am

Stellar game! I am biased toward well-designed pixel characters, and this game has em! Overall good, however there's a bug that allows me to place enemies right at the door of many levels, which is effectively an automatic win. Very very impressed with this one!

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:41am

Hey, I just added a small update to the "fixed" download for the door exploit, if y'all wanna try it! ;)

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:44am

Somfunambulist- Ha, and I thought my pixel art was awful!

Take that, self-criticism!

vids says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:26am

Great graphics and really fun gameplay, love the hero's AI that we're tasked to manipulate, wonderful! I would've made it mouse-only too.

maiev says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:39am

Amazing. The gameplay itself was very smooth and allowed for a lot of different solutions. I really wish the controls were mouse only.

- Bombs completely OP but were a lot of fun to use.
- Some levels felt like the solution were really simple compared to what was expected.
- I really wish the last level was longer because the scrolling large map has a lot of potential.

barret907k says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:33am

Nice. Very fun.

Joncom says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:11am

I like your tiles.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:51pm

Really good and innovative puzzle game! Congrats!
I love also graphics and sfx.
A question: Why hero wins also if he doesn't touch the flag?

GameRespect says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:02pm

Just an awesome game. It's well put together, the aesthetic is nice. Well done!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:49pm

One of the best games I have seen here! keep up the good job!

Maristak says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:58pm

Love the game! Was so much fun & fits the theme realy well

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:25am

Thanks for all the nice comments, folks!

Also, naufr4g0, it's basically a result of some lazy coding shortcuts. You gotta do what you gotta do, man. It's a hard knock life.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:16am

Good idea, wish there was more varied gameplay and less dependency on hero jump trajectory calculations.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:51am

Nice puzzle game :)
Good job

Cyboot says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:12pm

Quit a good game, I enjoyed playing it. I don't really know why, but I love this kind of graphics.

I really love the gameplay concept of making the level so difficult that the hero must die as it is the opposite of what you want if you are the hero yourself.
One small note, I would like the level to be more different because after 5 or 6 level of doing almost exactly the same thing I got a little bored.

But nevertheless, good game. Great Job and gratulation on finishing your first game :)

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:39am

Yeah, I discussed the progressively stale levels in the post mortem, it's definitely a weak point for the game.

nilstastic says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:27pm

Good: I liked the idea of the game. Nice graphics.
Improve: Level #1 = to hard, and the text to small =)

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:24am

Level 1...too hard...........what? You literally have to press enter, buddy. There is nothing else you do on that level. There isn't even a PUZZLE.

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:09pm

Good game. A bit on the easy side though, could do with tougher levels.

It's kinda funny how a reverse platformer is a puzzler.
Although I wonder why is the hero advancing through harder levels :P? Maybe you should've started with the hardest level but made most traps already there except for that one safe path.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]