December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Eye of an Slender

by Maristak - Jam Entry

This is our very first LudumDare entry, as well as our first team project. It was fun!
-------------------------------
Our dev team:
Martin E. (Maristak)
Jirka F. (Fry93)
Lukas K. (LUKYNN)
-------------------------------
Game was written in C# using only GDI+ for rendering and WMPLib for sound management. We have used Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 with CodePlex Team Foundation Server.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Theme(Jam)3.38
#238Audio(Jam)2.00
#261Mood(Jam)2.39
#264Humor(Jam)1.89
#276Innovation(Jam)2.25
#291Fun(Jam)2.13
#295Graphics(Jam)2.21
#299Overall(Jam)2.33
#670Coolness49%

Comments

Nsmurf says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:23am

You are signed in as myemail@gmail.com, but you don't have permission to access this item. You can request access from the owner or choose a different account.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:56am

You need permission to access this item.

You are signed in as -REDACTED-, but you don't have permission to access this item. You can request access from the owner or choose a different account.

Maristak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:11am

I appologize for the inconvenience. Totally forgot that file is locked by default. It should be fine now.

master4523 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:12pm

I loved the idea of being Slender Man. Controls were easy to get, graphics are ok, audio too. The use of the "Fear" skill was hilarious, watching the enemies going crazy :)
I encountered some collisions problems but it's alright I guess. However, the game was a bit choppy on my computer, I'll try on another computer.

Maristak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:39pm

We are aware of some FPS problems as we didn't have the time to do optimalization. The code is pretty dirty and far from well-optimized...

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:52pm

I dig that music. Very moody. It would be nice to see the kill animation rather than just have them die and vanish. Teleporting around could also use some visualizations other than a quick jump. I like the idea of stalking around and using fear, and the flashlights were a great touch.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:56pm

It would have been a GREAT game, but four things brought it down.

Firstly, teleporting was bugged. I can not teleport without flying off the map. That would have been fine, but it is impossible to restart the level without exiting the game! As I played with my only other two abilities, I was disappointed that you can't use them while walking -- probably an intended feature, but not really the best of choices. Finally, the audio occurred randomly, and the sound seemingly had nothing to do with what was going on. Great idea, poorly implemented.

LogGiant says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:30am

When I saw the idea I just HAD to play it. Great job!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:33am

I'll admit that playing switching roles with game villains may not be the MOST original idea this LD but it's certainly not a bad one. The gameplay needed a bit more polish, the kids vanishing doesn't make for a satisfying kill, same with teleporting. Also, the original Slender game had only one player in the woods, but I see why you would change that. But maybe you shouldn't have, and instead force player to induce a certain amount of fear into the child before you can kill him. Sprites were okay for the time time limit. I like how Slender tilts his head in the idle animation. Though the children sprites look of a different style and detail. Where they taken from somewhere else?

~AlucardX60

Maristak says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Yes, the children sprites are taken from external source. We did not have enough time to do those. Thanks for the critics, next entry will be a lot more polished :)

Peping says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:09pm

The idea is great, but the game is not very well done... People's movements are very buggy, hunting them isn't much fun, graphics don't add much to the atmosphere and there is an error when running and closing the game.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:52pm

I have no clue what to download in this folder, and I don't see a .zip or anything.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]