Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Trolls: Where the Sun Don't Shine - Starspell - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: There is no-preloader for the game. The game will be a blank white box until it loads. Just bear with it, it doesn't take too long :)

You are a troll. This particular troll will turn to stone in sunlight. The sun is powered by flowers and the damn things just keep on growing!

Stomp those plants and stop the sun from waking up!

Use the arrow keys to move and jump.
P is Pause.
M is Mute.

Tip: If you get rid of all the currently blooming flowers the sun's power will decrease.

Time lapse on the way!

Created in ActionScript3 with FlashPunk.
Sounds from Sfxr, danosongs.com and freesound.org

View Starspell's journal. | View all entries by Starspell

Ratings

Coolness100%
#70Audio3.39
#74Fun3.53
#142Overall3.42
#163Mood3.20
#192Innovation3.24
#198Humor3.03
#287Theme3.40
#385Graphics2.89

Comments

donmilham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:26am

I liked the "Old School" controls. Simple and intuitive. I enjoyed seeing the transformation of the game level as I was losing; and eventually my fate. (No spoilers here...)

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:03am

Nice! Great animation and motion, really solid control feel. Catchy music, too.

After a while, I really started to enjoy stomping on flowers ... :O

patricklorio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:54am

Everything felt smooth and comfortable. I love you're take on the theme.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:36pm

This was a really neat game you made here It was a good and addictive game it had me coming back trying to beat my score I only got 5395 but hey really good job.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Aww thanks for all the great comments so far everyone! My best score right now is around 12000. If you get rid of all the currently blooming flowers the sun's power will decrease. I'll add that as a note.

boxerbomb says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:29pm

7245 was my high score

someone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:22pm

Very cool. Good concept and well executed.
I recommend adding a preloader.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Yeah I do really need a preloader. I've never made one before so it'll be fun to try. ^^

Thanks for the comments you two!

Worse says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:17pm

Fun to play!

zompi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:58pm

Funny game, cool graphics, silly animation of stomping on flowers. I love the effect, that sounds are fading when sun is shinier. But why the web page has to be so green? My eyes!

maiev says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:02pm

Got hard really fast once you get past 6000. Was addicting stomping those flowers and I loved the change once you are about to lose.

High sore: 8328

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Really cute animations and very nice graphics. I also really liked the stomp mechanic (and the animation/sound when turning to stone) - makes a nice change from shooting ;)

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:10pm

Gargoyles, much?
It's a hilarious little game, and the difficulty curve is nigh-perfect. The animation and sound are great, and the concept is original and amusing.
Now, if you'll excuse me, I have flowers to stamp on.

Draknek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:14pm

It didn't feel like I was ever reducing the sun's power, so it felt a bit futile. I guess it is anyway: trying to stave off the inevitable as long as possible, but I would have liked crushing bloomed flowers to be more obviously rewarding.

Didn't play much, scored 4159.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:39am

The audio was amazing! I got a score around 12000 - I think I'm a pretty good stomper!

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:01am

@ Draknek: If you didn't see the change then it's likely that there were still some blooming flowers around. The level goes back to being dark and the music comes back so it's pretty obvious.

@ 01010111: Nice one, that's about as high as I can managed.

Thank you everyone for the great feedback and comments!

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:26pm

8,923pts. This was a very fun game. One of the more enjoyable entries I've played as far as game-play goes. Stomping flowers is a good villainous twist.

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:35pm

Thank you Suese!

h8urf8 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Dat sound, when the flowers bloom. *wink wink* *nudge nudge*

Great game idea and mood though.

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:50pm

Could not download from your site, was marked by our filtering software as a "pay-to-surf" site.

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:52pm

@Justin that's strange. You shouldn't "download" anything. It's a play in browser game. And it certainly isn't pay to surf. Try clicking on it again or typing in sarah.draknek.org/Games/Troll into your browser.

Schwiggy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:03pm

For a retro game this is very visceral. Controls flow well and the harsh square ground feels rounded as you climb off the ladder. The way the music faded out as the sun powered up was a nice touch.

aeveis says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:04pm

simple and fun.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:04pm

Nice simple, concise, idea. Jumping on the flowers feels very satisfying. I also really liked that it forced me to really watch the whole screen.

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:17pm

Cheers guys! Fantastic comments.

Thanks for pointing out the ladders Schwiggy. I spent ages getting the ladders to collide nicely and help the player around the level. It's no fun losing because you got stuck ^^

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:55pm

Good ladder mechanics, I always find ladders hard. I liked the idea of fighting the sun

dek says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:27am

Damn. I turned to stone. I really liked your game. It was fluid, didnt feel clunky at all. Very enjoyable, and the cute art game me a laugh :) Music is a plus too.

Meep says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:56am

A fun little game with a clever take on the theme. :) I like how the flowers are what gives the sun its energy. :P

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:02am

Feels very nice with the platforming and such. The concept was rather funny as well, and the flowers going 'Woo!' whenever they sprout was nice. Very solid.

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:07am

Got it working, must have been a fluke (or bad timing). Glad I came back to it though. Great game that I would expect to be a game that took a month to perfect, not 48 hours. :-)

amassingham says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:24am

Loved the concept, stomping on flowers. It's brilliant.

laaph says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:37am

Not working for me (Tuesday 17:36 PST). All I get is a white box where a game should be :( tested in Firefox and Chrome, both on OSX 10.7.

laaph says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:40am

My bad! It's just the loading takes so long that I thought it wasn't loading. As someone above said, a loading screen would have helped.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:46am

Simple yet fun.

lur says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:39am

Hectic and fun, great music.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:50am

Fun to play and polished. A very nice entry.

jfroco says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:00am

Nice!!! Very solid gameplay. Congrats

Oreganik says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:55am

I loved the way you justified stomping on flowers. Getting into the heads and knowing why they do what they do is a really fun way to use the theme. The jumping mechanic felt pretty good, but of course, it was only a matter of time. =) Thumbs up.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:35am

I love how the graphics and sound both change to indicate approaching doom.

Starspell says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:34am

Thanks everyone! It's great to read all of those comments. I'm so happy you like it!

har_g says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:26pm

stompstomp - stompstomp - raaaa - stompstomp - crouick - 7610

damn adictive

The stair make me remember a game with mario and kong

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:04pm

Nice game!
You got the biology lessons backwards, but its OK :)
The music is really great. The sound of turning into stone is really freaky :)

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:27pm

Fun game! The controls were tight, and the sound effects were very nice. Some barriers between ladders might spice it up a bit more though!

Starspell says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:49pm

Cheers for the feedback guys ^^

Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:54pm

F U sun! Ha ha, good job!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:30pm

Also, my high score is 19192.

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:31pm

It was nice, I liked the sun's graphics.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:35am

Liked the overall concept and mechanics and brightening of the screen. Would maybe introduce some other hazard to jump over along they way. Seems the game would be more fun if you could wrap around the edges of the screen, too, vs being blocked.

Gazok says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:06am

Very nice game, but I wasn't very good at it. It took me two attempts before I realised you had to stamp on flowers multiple times to kill them, and even then I only got ~7000.

Claite says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:59am

It was fun smashing flower! Stomping on their happy little faces.

nilstastic says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Good: Fun, I liked the old school feeling and the game felt polished.
Improve: There were no goats! :)

fr_automatik says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Simple concept. Good Execution. Amazing music.
Efficient graphics(But not perfect, though some clouds in the background, and a better font would do the trick)
Congratulations. :)

ramoncb says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:04pm

well polished for sure!

that sun is pretty cool too!

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Cheers everyone ^^ I'm glad you are all enjoying it.

@fr_automatik after the competition I'll be working on this and adding a little bit more polish to it ^^ Clouds and/or birds are a must!

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:38pm

Cool game. Very simple and fun. Music doesn't seem to match gameplay, but I was grooving.

Nice work!

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:42pm

Yeah I either thought, "I've got to go nasty and trollish to match the gameplay or catchy so you want it back when you stomp on all the flowers". I decided the second one was more desirable ^^

illugion says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:44am

Fun and simple gameplay, reminded me of some atari games

ddionisio says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:16am

Great work on a simple yet fun gameplay!

Starspell says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:54am

Cheers guys. Thanks for playing!

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Got 9274
Oddly addicting little game. Great music and very tight controls. Fresh theme interpretation and a nice challenge. Great job!

Starspell says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 8:39am

Cheers everyone for playing and rating. Very happy to place at 142nd. Fantastic competition.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]