December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Journey Of Evil

by jayhC - Jam Entry

To become truly EVIL you have to learn to harm those who are really kind.

Evilness will grow upon destroying the kindness and consuming their soul.

But kindness and charm can hurt the EVIL inside you...

----------------------------------------------------

Since I had an really unfinished version of the game in the Compo submission I am updating this to a Jam Entry to submit another unfinished but updated version of the game..

The game doesn't have an "endgame" so if you reach the maximum level it doesn't have any more content (you can still walk around and slaughter). Originally I planned a bossfight but there was just no time for it.

-----------------------------------------------------

Missing Features:
- Princess model
- Boss
- Endgame / End sequence
- A rotating Goat Statue at the Center :(

Feel free to comment/critique/ask. ;)

**NOTE
- To attack an NPC get really close and leftclick until he starts run away. Catch them and rightclick to consume when close to him.

Controls:
WASD -> Move
Space -> Jump
Left Mouse -> Attack
Right Mouse -> Consume
I -> Invers Mouse Look on Y-Axis

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#98Humor(Jam)3.00
#147Innovation(Jam)2.94
#153Graphics(Jam)3.26
#157Theme(Jam)3.32
#163Overall(Jam)3.00
#165Mood(Jam)2.82
#194Fun(Jam)2.68
#250Audio(Jam)1.80
#293Graphics3.11
#304Humor2.71
#332Theme3.28
#359Innovation2.89
#492Mood2.56
#566Audio1.47
#576Overall2.61
#629Fun2.22

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:37am

The environment is fairly decent, and the enemy models are really interesting. I would love to see this game with all the proposed features!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:38am

I enjoyed the thematic intro. it was beautiful and nicely set the stage for me. I liked the idea i was going to impress a princess. It took me a little while to figure out how to hurt anything, let alone consume it. i did though. once in the courtyard, i didn't figure out what to do. nice models!

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04am

Amazing game!

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15am

A shame you didn't get more done, but I liked the humour, both in the story and in the core idea of avoiding being smothered by really, really, nice people. :)

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:22am

I liked the open cutscene!

It was hard to tell when to attack/absorb other villagers, some sort of feedback would have been nice.

juaxix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:11pm

I dont understand the game but i appreciate the work put on it

Aswissrole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:20pm

Nice idea, would love to have seen to final version. (perhaps you could enter it in the jam?). Intro was excellent and I love the idea. Not sure what is supposed to happen at the end, I filled up the black bar and nothing.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:31pm

This is pretty good :)

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:33pm

I know how hard it is to make this kind of game and i think it's a good start, maybe you should add some sounds effect to let us know if we're doing something good

jayhC says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:56am

Thanks for feedback everyone ;) I appreciate all of it.
Just updated the game and submitted it as Jam Entry with some features you were missing to get along with the game.
Have fun!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:44pm

Solid fun; spent a long time clicking around trying to see what happens after the solid black bar...

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:33pm

Looks pretty nice. I like the idea of it, however, the kill/consume mechanic felt unsatisfying. More visual feedback and more challenge to that system would be good. as that is the only thing to do.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:11pm

There good point for your introduction. The world is really big. A lot of work. Bravo !

Tifu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:26pm

I felt like a monster once I started killing the nicer critters :(
So... good job? =D

raincole says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:30pm

Glad to see you posted the combo version and jam version both. Your models are good as well.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:29pm

I liked this one a lot. The graphics have a nice style, and its pretty fun to play once you figure it out. My only complaint is how annoying it is to comsume villagers, maybe you should make it so that all dead villagers on screen will be consumed.

wlad says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:31pm

Nice game! It was fun to find out how to consume villagers and to get stronger, I'm looking forward to the boss! The story and the comments of the villagers create a strong atmosphere, the game just needs some more features to keep it up the whole time!

pereubu says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:38pm

gameplay & controls are a bit frustrating and repetitive, but i liked the concept anyway, plus the ennemy design wich is completely awesome !

Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Interesting thing!

"Go right" is kind of a useless instruction though, as you probably spun around a lot at that point :P

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:15am

Man, I'm sorry... I tried and tried, but I just couldn't work out how to kill anything! I liked the villager characters and the daft comments that pop up over their heads though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]