About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 14 hours, 22 minutes, 37 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 14 hours, 34 minutes, 37 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 15 hours, 22 minutes, 37 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Virus - Ardale - Jam Entry

    First Ludum Dare for me, and it was very hard..uff.
    Ok here is Virus, a game without goal, without end, and I...I really don't know what is Virus, maybe a virus simulator, but is sure that it is really messed up. You are a virus(really uh?), and your goal is to survive, infecting humans (turning them into zombies) and avoiding spray antibiotics. Spread yourself!

    Arrow Keys : move

    Enjoy!!

    View Ardale's journal. | View all entries by Ardale

    Ratings

    Coolness77%
    #101Fun(Jam)3.13
    #107Innovation(Jam)3.15
    #109Theme(Jam)3.54
    #125Graphics(Jam)3.46
    #132Mood(Jam)2.97
    #144Overall(Jam)3.10
    #152Audio(Jam)2.87
    #229Humor(Jam)2.14

    Comments

    TehSkull says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:52am

    It's like a more difficult and yet far easier (once you get the hang of it) version of Infectonator. I like this a lot, but I wish it were more fun. The pacing is too slow, and it's too easy to die and too easy to live forever.

    Also, there's a WEIRD bug where an NPC walked into the wall where the vent is and just stood still until a zombie came an got him. Until that zombie got him though, the framerate hit rock bottom.

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:36am

    Good entry, I still can not get over the first room I can not figure out how to turn off the spray in the pipeline -.-

    trentfealy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:56am

    Normaly don't run exe's named virus

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:06am

    Wow, this game is quite laggy, but yet its fun

    berareu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:04pm

    Fun game and kinda hard too until you grasp how it works!
    Liked the graphics too, good work!

    Bensonance says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:13pm

    This is a great game all round, but I feel it needs a bit more explanation to ease players into the game.

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:23pm

    Play as the virus and the graphic presentation of this game is pretty cool. :)

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:27pm

    It lags hard on my computer (I am on windows 8).
    However, cool graphics and atmosphere, and I dig the gameplay idea!

    D3zmodos says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:30pm

    Had a few framerate issues every now and then and it took me a while to figure out exactly how things worked. Once I got going though it was pretty cool.

    Fun game, I really liked it.

    bechsen says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:17pm

    Nice game, can't stop playing

    pythong says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:26pm

    kinda short game, as soon as you get the hang, it's super easy. it would have been nice to have more levels (as soon as all are infected)

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:35pm

    @trentfealy : Lol, same! it could have been an interpretation of the theme: "to be a real villain hacker" ^^

    Good game, well designed, just lack instructions

    HeXoT says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:42pm

    I cant figure out how to infect any one and it still looks very fun.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    Nice graphics (I like how the virus moves!) and cool start. It's fun, but more levels + an end would be nice. It has potential!

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:53pm

    Rofl, feels dodgy downloading a file called virus.exe.

    Once I knew what I was doing, it was pretty fun. Playing as a sentient virus is a cool idea. I also liked how there was strategy in staying near zombies to beat antibacterial people but targeting gunmen when they were on their own.

    Pretty fun game, nice one.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:49pm

    Really fun and loved the idea but it's really short

    8bitDamage says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:50pm

    I prefer playing the virus rather than the zombie! Great work!

    mokujin says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:58pm

    Fun game but too short)

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:58pm

    It seems like it requires you to die and restart at the checkpoint in order to progress past the first room (otherwise you don't have enough power to make it through the vents). There is also very little feedback on if I am infecting someone or not, which was confusing.

    myachin says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:18am

    great

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:39am

    A bit confusing at first. Once I was able to get out and infect someone on the outside rooms zombie outbreak made the game too easy. Would have been nice to have more levels, possibly with greater and greater scope until you conquer the world. As with many others, I feel naming the file virus.exe was not the best choice.

    blob says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:34am

    That's a fun concept. The game needs more polish for level design and look but its a pretty cool idea worth developping :)

    Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:48pm

    Good job. Is this game hard or am I doing something wrong?! I got an slowdown even though my PC is high-end.

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:49am

    Fun game and interesting game mechanics. Graphics remembers 'Hotline Miami'

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]