December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Princess Sheltering

by Clodial - Jam Entry

So, this is my first ever entry to anything. That specifically includes Ludum Dare XD.
The game has you being the evil whoeveritwas that kept Repunzel in a lofty tower. Your goal is to take out anyone who tries to save her.

Now, I wasn't able to implement a couple things, including some features that would have made the game more fun, in my opinion, but it is done.

Hope you enjoy XD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#54Theme(Jam)3.83
#101Innovation(Jam)3.17
#108Humor(Jam)2.93
#140Fun(Jam)2.94
#182Overall(Jam)2.94
#252Graphics(Jam)2.56
#290Mood(Jam)2.08
#898Coolness36%

Comments

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:40am

Now that was weird. For your first game, that was pretty decent. Sensible controls and scoring system, decent graphics.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:21pm

Cute little game :) Keep going!

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:53pm

132. Yeah at first I was like "Seriously? That's it?" but after you upped the levels I thought it was a great game. Hope you can continue to work on this :D
Love the goat clouds, by the way.

Patrick64 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:02am

Great fun, I love the graphics and crazy clouds.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:12am

Congrats on your first entry!

caranha says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:15am

It was actually quite a fun game! Got up to the fourth stage (Getting hard? Great!)

I really liked the simple graphics, specially the piles of knight corpses at the base of the tower, and the happy, smiling wizard.

I think the earlier stages were a bit too long - specially the first stage.

One thing that would improve your game a lot (besides sounds) is adding a score - hitting multiple knights at once should give you a bonus to the score. This would add a risk-reward component to the game.

Also, I would reduce the frequency of the goat clouds - the WTF surprise is funnier when it is rarer :-)

Thank you! Pretty decent game!

Jiddo says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:07am

Hey! Those level three heroes are breaking the speed limit! That's cheating! :(

Nice game tho. I certainly did not expect the addition of the vines introduced in the second level. Neat idea.

Gameplay and controls were very good. Graphics was nice, and cudos for the goat cloud. :)

Clodial says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Wow, I'm actually surprised at all the nice comments XD.
caranha- Yeah, I definitely wanted to add something that said that you hit more than one. (and rename the score-thing since I actually didn't mention that when you kill 2 or more, you get a score increase of that times 2 o.O) I also noticed that the goat clouds came up, heh, gonna change that right now.

Thanks again for all the comments XD!

Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:00pm

If this is your fisrt game, i see a very bright future ahead of you

Spelchan says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:07am

Once you got past the first level the game became very fun but the difficulty increased rather quickly. The first level should have been shorter as I almost quit the game assuming that was all there was to it but figured I'd stop at 100. While simple, the art and animation was effective.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:38pm

Was about to quit when i got to the first difficulty jump. heh. the graphic is hillarious.

fishbrain says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:34am

Great effort, especially for a first timer entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]