December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Micro Mob

by chrismwaite - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Micro Mob is a crime simulator for the PC and Mac.

You play as the Mob. You goal is to occupy every square of the city.

The screen is split in two - the GUI on the left and the City on the right.

On the left hand side is the GUI which is split into "You" and "The Fuzz" (police). The Fuzz is controlled by the computer AI.

Under each heading you have two stats to pay attention to; "Gangsters" and "Fresh Blood". Gangsters is the total number of gangsters you have available to distribute to the city squares. Fresh Blood is the number of new gangsters you will receive (every 15 seconds).

The Fuzz have the same stats but with different terminology. This gives you an insight into how they are doing.

On the right hand side is the City. The city is divided into 25 squares/zones. A zone can have 1 of 4 states.

1) Neutral - indicated by the general peaceful appearance of the tile
2) Occupied by the Fuzz - indicated by the police cars
3) Occupied by you, the Mob - indicated by a black car, dead bodies, and no pedestrians
4) Fighting - indicated by the presence of both you and the fuzz and a general state of chaos.

If you hover over any zone, a badge will be displayed with a number on it. This is the defence value of that zone. To occupy it, you must have enough Gangsters. Click the zone to occupy it. Your number of gangsters will be reduced by the value.

Additionally, the badge that is displayed when you hover over a zone will help you identify it (orange is neutral, blue is controlled by the fuzz, red is controlled by you, blue and red split down the middle is a fight)

The Zones all behave a little differently when you try to Occupy them. Lets look at that.

1) Neutral - trying to occupy this will result in immediate occupation.
2) Occupied by you - trying to occupy this will remove any gansters already in the sapce and return them to you "Gangsters" count for redistribution.
3) Occupied by the fuzz - trying to occupy this will result in a fight. Your gangsters will decrement and the zone will change to a fight scene. After 5 seconds the fight will be resolved and you'll either be awarded the zone or the fuzz will.

Occupy more zones to increase your "Fresh Blood". This in turn will award you more gangsters every 15 seconds.

-------- Installation ----------

PC Users: Extract the folder anywhere on your computer and double click the run.bat file

Mac Users: Extract the folder. Open a terminal and change to the extracted folder directory. Type ./run.sh

Enjoy the game and I look forward to your feedback :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#166Graphics3.50
#172Innovation3.29
#182Audio2.97
#226Theme3.51
#236Mood3.03
#240Fun3.09
#254Overall3.19
#477Humor2.19

Comments

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:24am

I had a hard time understanding the mechanics and the goal of the game. What does "Fresh blood" do for instance?

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:15pm

Thanks for trying the game. Unfortunately I fell victim to the rushed tutorial syndrome (thinking my game "expalins iteself"). I did put a rules button in the game which you can check out but its rather sparse (and full of game specific lingo). Here's a more indepth explanation...

--- Tutorial ---

You play as the Mob. You goal is to occupy every square of the city.

The screen is split in two - the GUI on the left and the City on the right.

On the left hand side is the GUI which is split into "You" and "The Fuzz" (police). The Fuzz is controlled by the computer AI.

Under each heading you have two stats to pay attention to; "Gangsters" and "Fresh Blood". Gangsters is the total number of gangsters you have available to distribute to the city squares. Fresh Blood is the number of new gangsters you will receive (every 15 seconds).

The Fuzz have the same stats but with different terminology. This gives you an insight into how they are doing.

On the right hand side is the City. The city is divided into 25 squares/zones. A zone can have 1 of 4 states.

1) Neutral - indicated by the general peaceful appearance of the tile
2) Occupied by the Fuzz - indicated by the police cars
3) Occupied by you, the Mob - indicated by a black car, dead bodies, and no pedestrians
4) Fighting - indicated by the presence of both you and the fuzz and a general state of chaos.

If you hover over any zone, a badge will be displayed with a number on it. This is the defence value of that zone. To occupy it, you must have enough Gangsters. Click the zone to occupy it. Your number of gangsters will be reduced by the value.

Additionally, the badge that is displayed when you hover over a zone will help you identify it (orange is neutral, blue is controlled by the fuzz, red is controlled by you, blue and red split down the middle is a fight)

The Zones all behave a little differently when you try to Occupy them. Lets look at that.

1) Neutral - trying to occupy this will result in immediate occupation.
2) Occupied by you - trying to occupy this will remove any gansters already in the sapce and return them to you "Gangsters" count for redistribution.
3) Occupied by the fuzz - trying to occupy this will result in a fight. Your gangsters will decrement and the zone will change to a fight scene. After 5 seconds the fight will be resolved and you'll either be awarded the zone or the fuzz will.

Occupy more zones to increase your "Fresh Blood". This in turn will award you more gangsters every 15 seconds.

I hope that helps.

There's a lot of scope for expansion the game, particularly around tactics.

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:28pm

Nice game! Real time strategy games are always pretty cool in my books. :) As you've noticed, it was a little difficult to understand the game. I played again after reading your instructions, and it was a lot more clear. If I were you, I'd edit those instructions into the main description for your game. Good job on the game! :D

Macroz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:34pm

It was easy and was first difficult to see where you have won the area but worked still. Next add some more complex mechanics :)

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:37pm

Graphics are really nice. The game is a bit easy, but it's hard to write competitive AI in a short time span. Other than that, if the values of the zones were written with small text below them it'd be much better imo.

Nice effort. If you're considering on improving this game in the future, you might consider adding a couple of new mechanics into it to keep things interesting.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:59pm

All in all this one is really nice. The graphics and music go together really well, I like the sort of 50s vibe its giving me. Its also really fun to play, if you like real time strategy games that is. My only complaint is that the stats are not well explained. It took me a while to figure out that fresh blood is how many new recruits you get per 15 seconds. Once you figure out how the system works, its really easy however. I went for all the cheaper properties before the fuzz got to them, and then took out the fez's properties one by one. Its a really nice game, but I really think you should make a better tutorial for it.

dcolgan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:00pm

Nice little game. I managed to beat it after a few attempts. Though not incredibly flashy, it is complete. Well done!

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:20pm

I can't seem to run the game. When I double click the .bat file the cmd window opens up and slows down my computer a lot, but nothing seems to happen.

I'll try again on a different computer later on.

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:36pm

@Starspell

Sorry about that. Not sure what would cause it. Any output in the cmd window at all? - aside from the texture division by two warnings :)

naxum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:00pm

Well done! It felt a bit like my game (where you take over a city selling meth while avoiding police), so I felt right at home! Man, those cops are pretty good at winning fights though, but all bad guys get caught in the end, so I can't complain ;)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:09pm

Strange game... For the entire length of the game, "The Fuzz" has been at 20 coppers and 0 new recruits and this never changed. I've never seen them on the map whatsoever. So I just had to wait and take over all areas to win. I played the OS/X version, so maybe that's the reason for this strange bug?
Also, why are you distributing the Windows batch script and dll's with the Mac version? Or are they needed for the OS/X version to work? In that case, just ignore this question :P

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:09pm

Great game and its even complete. Thats rarely found under all the compo games and given that you said this is your first compo ever - well done! I actually played this quite a while without reading your detailed instructions and it was fine.
I agree though, that you should put the instructions into the description of your game - right under the links.

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:11pm

@naxum

Just tried your game. They do share similarities. I think yours is a little more complex though :)

tompudding says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:12pm

Loved the visuals and the mood. The pace was a bit slow, but overall quite enjoyable.

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:16pm

@timtipgames - ouch! you must have found an obscure bug. I tested on OSX and it worked. The start is randomised so can you try a new game?

You're right about the distribution. I didn't have time for proper deployment. The windows and OSX version share the same codebase and assets. Should have stripped them out.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:42pm

It's very addictive, but when you remove all the cops and they don't have enough "cop points" to buy a square, it's just a matter of time to you win.

ilo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:55am

Dominant strategies aside, it's a polished entry and the core idea of fighting over territory is very appealing. As others have said, adding a few more mechanics - e.g. buildings could have different effects - would make this a very good game.

jerrre says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:48pm

Really nice game, the cops had no houses left but nothing happened, I thought I beat the game

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:50pm

@jerrre - thanks for the feedback. You only win if you occupy all zones with your gangsters (that includes neutral zones).

This gives the fuzz an opportunity to get a foothold again if they have enough coppers.

Digiraze says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:14pm

So if the gangster own 3 by 3 like this:

GGG
GGG
GGG

And the Fuzz when into the middle:

GGG
GFG
GGG

Which in my opinion they should not be able to. I reckon I should be able to beat them fairly easily, because they are surrounded by gangster. But I was annoyed that it took me a while to beat them, and sometime they would win too. Just my opinion.

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:25pm

@Digiraze

You are totally correct. I want to add tactics to the next version of the game so that you can surround to overwhelm and vice versa for defending. In fact, I was discussing this very thing with a friend last night.

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:22pm

I dunno, neat idea, but it all felt too random... I don't think anything I did had any effect on whether or not I won the battles, etc.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:16pm

Took me a minute, but with your explanation I was able to figure it out and get a win! The key seemes to be to hit the coppers as fast as you can.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:09pm

Really easy to play. The gameplay didn't have much depth nor difficulty, I think it was actually harder trying to read the description of how to play than to just jump in and figure it out. Congrats on your achievements here. :)

rinaka says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:12pm

Interesting strategy game. The graphics look nice and are consistent. I only wish there was a bit more feedback on what's going on at each city block (maybe tint the buildings blue or red? I really don't know.)

I like the rhythm given by the flow of new recruits. In the beginning it makes the game almost feel turn-based as you have to keep spending all your goons on new territory to avoid falling behind. Then the real fun begins as you have to decide how many to keep on reserve to recover lost territories and what and when to attack.

firestorm713 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:30pm

Not sure what I like about this game, but it was fun!

Norgg says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:29pm

This was pretty fun and solidly tied together, but I completed it on the first attempt and it felt very random, are the battles just a coin flip currently?

chrismwaite says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:24am

@Norgg

You're totally correct, battles are currently random. I ran out of time to implement a more complex system for resolving them.

I'm currently working on a full mobile release which will have much deeper strategic elements (as well as some extra depth).

Thanks for playing

nkling says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Nice game pretty easy to figure out whats going on. I beat it first try but I liked the basic idea behind it. Seems like it could be fleshed out some more. Nice work!

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:45pm

I won on the first try. I can't see any other influencing factors then pure randomness on how the fights are resolved though. Also there should be something that shows when the next recruits come. But all in all this is a good idea and nice implementation with good gfx. Thank you!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]