About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 17 hours, 14 minutes, 40 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 17 hours, 26 minutes, 40 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 18 hours, 14 minutes, 40 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    It Should be a Crime! - Ysty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    It Should be a Crime is a rhythm stealth game about queue cutting. As the villainous queue barger, you must get to the end of the queue in a very limited amount of time, whilst being careful not to overly annoy those behind you, and to not be spotted outside the line by the queue matron.

    The windows .exe is not an installer. For now, Mac users are recommended the .love version. You have to install Love2D (found at love2d.org), but if you're into indie games you probably should have that installed anyway.

    View Ysty's journal. | View all entries by Ysty

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #43Innovation3.88
    #188Audio2.96
    #214Humor2.98
    #281Mood2.94
    #282Fun3.02
    #338Theme3.27
    #406Overall2.90
    #525Graphics2.53

    Comments

    singpolyma says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:37pm

    Your Ubuntu 32bit binary is an empty file.

    Ysty says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:52am

    @singpolyma Ah, gosh, you're right! Sorry about that, I can't believe I didn't notice it. I'll fix that as soon as I can, in the mean time if you want to play the game there's a raw .love (requires LÖVE to be installed) version here: ystygames.com/ludumdare/SBAC.love

    Ysty says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:11am

    Ok, I've updated the 32bit Ubuntu version and it is no longer an empty file. I'm still shocked that I managed to do that in the first place, I guess I was just tired.

    Ace says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:12pm

    A very unique concept, and I liked the audio even if it was very confusing. Managed to beat the entire game without even figuring out what the queue matrons are supposed to look like or even which way they're looking.

    agmcleod says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:28pm

    Are there any dependencies that I need to run the game such as Love2d? Trying the OS X Binary and this is what I get: http://pastie.org/5542705

    DST says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:41pm

    I ran the 32 bit ubuntu binary here on Arch linux, it worked after installing libtiff and symlinking: sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libtiff.so /usr/lib/libtiff.so.4
    You are right, people cheating in the line are really the everyday villains ;)

    Ysty says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:58pm

    @agmcleod There shouldn't be any dependencies, but I don't have a mac so I haven't been able to test that version. If you don't mind installing Love2d, you can play the raw .love version (found here: ystygames.com/ludumdare/SBAC.love), and I'll see if I can do anything about getting the Mac version working.

    munchor says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:15pm

    Interesting game, the .love worked fine on GNU/Linux.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:20pm

    On Windows, the game ran so fast it was unplayable so I can't rate this sorry.

    Datw says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:20pm

    I can't get past the first level, it just isn't clear what I should be doing.

    Ysty says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57pm

    @zenmumbler Yeah, that's an annoying issue (that luckily seems to only happen on a few windows computers). If you update your graphics card drivers it'll work (the game should tie itself to your monitors refresh rate). I'll have to remember to make the speed frame independent in future.

    Worse says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:05pm

    I bit too fast paced. Interesting idea however.

    BipolarMike says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:38pm

    Couldn't play it on my computer :(

    Psytew says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:24am

    Definitely one of my favorites so far.

    master4523 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:23pm

    I want more levels! :)
    Overall it was a great little game, the sound effects and the whipsers were funny.
    Didn't encounter any issues at all.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:34pm

    Quite a fascinating idea, enjoyed the experience on level 1. Simple (but functional) graphics, and audio - absolutely exceptional! 1st class LOL!

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:36pm

    Hahaha! Though 1st & 2nd level is unbeatable due to frame rate issue, 3rd level is actually playable because there it got more objects so the frame runs slower!!

    I was thinking is this guy deliberately make this so hard...? he must really hate some guy that jump queues.... Kudos!

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:15pm

    Weird game. I see what you're trying to do, but it doesn't feel challenging or rhythmic enough. You can kind of dash to the end, the queue mechanic is only superficially explored. These kinds of games need strict limitations to feel right.

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:47am

    Really liked the anting of the people you advance, and really cool that mechanics are based on sound and rythm. The problem is that for me it was impossible to finsih scenario number 2 :/ Others go at a feasible speed, but not too. Did you multiply the update of state by frame time? I think it could be running to fast due to higher framerate.

    Despite of this, I enjoyed the game and it has been one of the most innovative games I played so far in LD :D

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:16pm

    Very innovative, and fun to play!

    MarekkPie says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:32pm

    Unique idea. Maybe I need to try it on a different computer, but the matrons spun around extremely fast, so I could only beat the first level.

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:35pm

    Nice and original but the level start ( especially lvl 3 ) is a bit confusing... Maybe make the matron look less efficient with range would help.

    cappelnord says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:42pm

    This was brilliant, thanks!

    ceronman says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:08pm

    Very nice concept. It was a bit hard to know how to play at the beginning. People graphics instead of squares would have been nice. The game is fun, it fits well with the them and it's challeging. Very nice! thanks.

    caranha says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:34pm

    Very unique take on the game and on the gameplay as well!

    The game was kinda short, but I liked it a lot. Maybe longer lines with more time to work on them would make the game more interesting :-)

    Thanks for the game! And oh yeah, line cutting should be a crime!

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:12pm

    Simple, but fun!

    GameRespect says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:18pm

    Simple and clean aesthetics and audio, and fun gameplay. I like it!

    awppy says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:38pm

    Gotta give you full credit on the theme. It definitely SHOULD be a crime. It took me a little while to figure out what to do, and the third stage got pretty hectic. Fun idea!

    myachin says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:00am

    sorry, but i cant run it on win7 intel965 videocard...(

    SFX says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:21pm

    I really, really like the idea of this game.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:48pm

    A good idea, maybe if the movement were discrete, so you move in rhythm

    mcc says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:32am

    This was... pretty neat! Very stylish and a cool concept. "You were eaten by the queue matron" was a great death screen. This felt very scanty though, even for a LD game. Even on the hardest level I didn't really feel like there was any challenge. Certain elements just wound up not factoring because the difficulty wasn't high enough to put them in play-- the green "annoyance" level didn't really factor because it moved too slowly to run out before the level ended, and the matron "staggering" in the final level didn't really matter because that level had so much time you could play cautiously. (Also, with levels so short, not really paying attention to the matrons and just trying again was an option!) I'd encourage you to make more levels at some point :)

    Another thing, I'm not sure about this but the game made me wonder-- You'd think the idea of a rhythm game would be to have the option of listening to the music instead of looking at the screen to determine correct behavior. But on the levels with "staggered" matrons this wasn't really an option because the "looking note" was different per matron. What if instead of the matrons all sharing the same piano loop, there were a few syncopated loops, each corresponding to one of the matrons? Like say instead of (A) (A) (D) (G) the music was something like (A) [G] (A) [A] (D) [A] (G) [D]) and the top matron was always looking left on (G) and the bottom matron was always looking left on [G] ? If matron behavior was to some degree predictable just from the music you could maybe get away with doing a bunch of rapid-fire levels of much higher difficulty...

    Jack says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:58am

    fantastic, by far the most innovative and fun game I've played this LD

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:03pm

    Pretty tense! This is the kind of game that I suck goat's balls at, though, so I didn't make it past level 2. I think this could work well as a mobile game, too. Great job!

    blob says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:25am

    Quite confusing, who are the queue matrons ? I liked the graphic style and overall audio of the game.

    Mista Koo says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:11am

    Stylish and fun, but not very villainous.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:30pm

    Remarkable game. It really opened spaces in my brain, so to speak. I like it when, after playing a game, I feel like my understanding of the universe expanded a bit, and this is one of those rare cases. The mechanics are very engaging, and the audio cues are a great touch. One of my favorites of this LD.

    I feel that the game is wildly beneath its potential, however. Naturally, having made it in 2 days, you couldn't yet explore this direction as fully as you should. It should be a crime for you not to further develop it.

    If you do, write me at [email protected]

    Great job!

    leafo says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:09am

    This is a cool concept. Pretty fun. Would be nice to see more levels. I felt like if I just rushed I could beat a level by chance without actually playing.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]