About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 14 hours, 12 minutes, 37 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 14 hours, 24 minutes, 37 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 15 hours, 12 minutes, 37 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Curse You! - caasi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Run! Don't get caught but also don't let the detective down!

    View caasi's journal. | View all entries by caasi

    Ratings

    Coolness55%
    #63Mood3.54
    #81Fun3.50
    #122Theme3.76
    #123Humor3.28
    #166Graphics3.50
    #167Overall3.37
    #197Innovation3.23

    Comments

    Blooperly says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:24am

    Great stuff! Love the mood. Way to keep it short and simple.

    Ashkin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:53am

    Nice little game you have here. I really like the villain's runcycle, as well as the rather humorous theme. Could be improved by some chase music, or perhaps changes in terrain that you need to jump over.

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:54am

    Neat concept and execution. Love it!

    Faust says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:22am

    It would be even better if there is an end result screen.

    Manuel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24am

    Very fun elegant game. The mechanic made me repeatedly press R :) Miss some sound though!

    caasi says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:56am

    @Blooperly:
    Thank you!

    @Ashkin:
    Ha, I like the run cycle myself too!
    It's sad that I no nothing about music.
    Thank you!

    @lekochen:
    Thanks!

    @Faust:
    You're right! There should be more endings!

    @Manuel:
    Fast-paced FTW! Thank you!

    metadept says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:13am

    Short, sweet, well-executed, and fits the theme perfectly. All it needs is an infinite mode and a catchy chiptune soundtrack to devour my life.

    Manuel777 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:51am

    Definately needs an 'infinite' mode and incrasing difficulty :D

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:32am

    The art style is really nice! Though the game is short but it feels very completed.

    Husky says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:29pm

    Short but fun!

    The guy is really looking for a beating rofl.

    poga says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:18pm

    Just make me smile :D nice~

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:31am

    I love the art style!

    lunadance says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:52am

    Endless Mode please !

    lur says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:16am

    Endless / looping mode would be great! Really neat graphics and animation.

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:04pm

    Hahaha look at him run! Yeah endless mode would be awesome, still a excellent game!

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:51pm

    cute idea playing off the respect a villain has for his adversary.

    infernet89 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:18pm

    Pretty interesting graphics here! And nice gameplay element too!

    Falkreon says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:15am

    Love it! It's simple, works really well, and hits the theme square-on.

    zatyka says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:32am

    Nice graphics. A little short, but simple, and very fun. I hope you develop it further.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:09pm

    Very simple but the graphics puts you in some interesting mood. Well done !

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 3:00pm

    This is nice, i like your take on the run mechanic vs gaining points. Risk vs reward :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]