December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dragon Wrath

by Aswissrole - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as a massive flying dragon as you terrorise the innocent citizens of Korbin, over 16 squared kilometres of beautiful landscape and procedurally generated villages. Raid towns and villages, force them to pay tribute to you and upgrade your dragon.

Written in Unity, using Audacity, MSpaint, Gimp, sfxr, 3d canvas pro

Web link recommended (download and source provided at bottom of page)

Tips:
* Burn villages to gain money
* Terrorise villages to increase fear
* More fear results in more frequent tribute payments
* Some villages are easier than others
* Hover over a village in the map view to get more information
* Return to your lair to see your gold and upgrade

A lot of people have commented on the controls which I agree are a little hard to get the hang of at first. Here are some tips to help you:
* Holding just spacekey allows you to fly up, use this to hover.
* While holding space use the arrow keys (or WASD) to increase your speed in that direction.
* The dragon is handled by the physics engine so will 'bounce' and maintains it's momentum.
* To avoid arrows attempt to strafe and circle the villages (don't fall, the arrows fall under gravity as well).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#162Theme3.67
#250Graphics3.23
#290Innovation3.03
#371Overall2.97
#418Mood2.68
#433Fun2.71
#453Humor2.26
#489Audio2.00
#831Coolness41%

Comments

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:15am

I like the terrain, it's quite pretty! Reminds me of a level in something like Black & White. The controls are bit awkward but the game itself works well. :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:40pm

Dang this came out pretty well in the end! The map screen is really useful, and it's good to see the archers are a little but more accurate :P Flying mostly feels good, would be awesome if you had a little more sideways movement control though.

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:53pm

Archers seemed really powerful, I was dying very quickly. Other than that, very well executed concept and fun game.

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:04pm

Nice game!

Grass lagged me bad though :/ And the movement is pretty slow at the beggining.

Fun a inmense world!

CMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Looks pretty fantastic, broad scope, great idea.
However, Dragon flies so awfully as to spoil the fun, and I can't even manage to deal with the first little hamlet. Perhaps a little overzealous with the levels?

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:13pm

Good job on the map AND the dragon !

gameXcore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:28am

Graphically nice, however I kept spending for ever to get to a village, at which point I would fly into a tree, get stuck, and get killed!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:48am

Loved the concept. Would be great with some music.

ilo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:34pm

Currently, the dragon is too cumbersome to control for it be very fun, but the scale and scope of the game is impressive.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:36pm

Wow, impressive you got this whole island created in 48 hours with upgrades and everything. Flying is rather cumbersome and the archers usually got the best of me before I could install any amount of fear in people's hearts.. *sad*

michax says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:34pm

Big game i must say! Dragon was a little uncomfortable to control, but i get used to it :) It's hard to not get kill by villagers. Good entry!

PS. Sounds seemed a little to loud.

doos says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:04pm

Really impressive.. Would have preferred different movement controls and a little more speed.. Didnt realise your dragon had momentum until a bit later. The level design is off the charts though! +1 for Burnination!

Jacic says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Dragons! The controls were odd, as others have said. This shows some promise though! :)

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:08am

Huge amount of content and it even has a tutorial. A lot of effort was put into it‎. The island looks great. It's very challenging. Good job!

Floko says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:20pm

The idea is pretty fun, it lacked a bit of feedback,tough x)

Aswissrole says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Sorry about the controls, didn't realise they were that bad. I guess you get rather good at playing your own game. I've included some tips above on how to fly. I might improve them for a post-comp release.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Nice idea, nice execution. This game needs some adjusts and tweaks (mainly with control) but have potential for sure.

bentog says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 7:52pm

I like the vast open world, the simple textures and the 3D models. However, it's really hard to control the dragon.

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Wow you had practically the same idea as I did! Arrows and everything! I really liked the map and the overall design. It felt like a pretty solid game.
I loved how the villagers would yell "OH NO!" and stuff. Small touches like that were fun to see, and it looks like you added a lot of them! I'm very impressed by how much stuff you managed to add in 48 hours.
I do think level game progression was a bit too slow for my liking, but there was a lot of content to see anyway.
Overall, it's a great game! Good job! ;D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]