December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

ON THE RUN

by chocobyte - 48 Hour Compo Entry

ON THE RUN (made in 48 hours - Ludum Dare 25)
======================================================
You just robbed a bank but your buddy with the car was
too stupid to find you. Suddenly the police appears -
and you are ON THE RUN! And your buddy with the money
just drops it in his great haste. Go collect it - ALL
of the money! And dont get busted by the police!
======================================================
Have Fun & Thank You for Playing!

/EDIT: I tried to fix the starting issues (with the
help of webglhelper.js). I updated the Files.

http://chocobyte.com/ld25_ontherun-fixed/ (new)
http://chocobyte.com/files/LD25_ONTHERUN_FIXED.zip (new)
http://chocobyte.com/ld25_ontherun/ (old)
http://chocobyte.com/files/LD25_ONTHERUN.zip (old)

~TROUBLESHOOTING~

CHECK if your Browser supports WebGL
http://get.webgl.org/

INTERNET EXPLORER 10
- well, It's Complicated. The IEWebGL Plugin ( http://iewebgl.com/Download.aspx )
may work. For me it was very slow and unplayable. :(

FIREFOX 17.0.1
- about:config
webgl.force-enabled = true

CHROME 23
- locally: start "chrome.exe" -allow-file-access-from-files
to give Chrome access to the textures.

F.A.Q
------------------------------------------------------
1. To run the game just open "index.html".

2. Gamecontrols are:
"W": up
"A": left
"S": down
"D": right
"SPACE": restart

3. I bet you cant get all dat money! :-)

4. Technical Stuff:
- just had "simple quad with texture renderer" - framework ready
and wrote rest of engine in contest - excuse me for bad
performance(!) - it needs some work...
- used photoshop and paint.net for textures
- sfxr for sounds

5. I want to make a Developers' Cut Edition with great performance,
fair gameplay (... fair hitboxes ^_^ ...), a nice intro and
music would be cool ... stay tuned ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#292Theme3.38
#329Graphics3.03
#460Audio2.13
#478Fun2.61
#523Overall2.71
#588Mood2.33
#609Humor1.84
#614Innovation2.32

Comments

munchor says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:32pm

Nice entry, it's quite hard to follow the crime-mate, but just staying away from the police was fun.

Manest says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:09pm

web entry seem does't work

chocobyte says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:13pm

Press a few times F5 and it will start.
There seems to be a problem with loading..

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:14pm

Web version doesn't work with IE10 (Win7 Preview) due to "document.body" being null.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:19pm

Hard, but a little fun

myachin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:23pm

web version doesnt work(

windows 7, chrome 23, jre

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:54pm

Nice idea, reminds me of Grand Theft Auto (I wonder if there are more GTA like games in the compo...) But reducing collision boxes would make it more fun, probably! Cops catch you when they seem to be still not touching you! :D

dvdking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:03pm

It's almost impossible to evade cops.
Would be nice to have some kind of intro.

chocobyte says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:11pm

@Luis Anton you are right, the hitboxes are not that fair..
@dvdking Yes it is hard. But it has also a strategic element - I guarantee it is possible to collect all the 1,5k money and get away :) I wanted to do an intro but ran out of time (and was very tired at the end ^^)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:42pm

Really fun

TheCze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09pm

Had problems getting it to work with Firefox, but worked with Chrome.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:21pm

It won't render for me :(

agmcleod says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:36pm

Rather liked the game. Very simple to grasp & get going. Was fun, and had a good challenge to it. Would be nice if it had some music :)

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:39pm

Hmm, I have webGl but it says it can't find it...

chocobyte says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:38pm

I just released a fix which will hopefully remove the starting problems.. @agmcleod, I want to make a Developers' cut edition with cool music but I unfortunately have little to nada experience with making cool music ;(

dek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:08pm

Didnt get far :(

chocobyte says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:21pm

I really should mention that it is easier to win the game if you use the "strafe"-technique to run faster - press up or down and left/right together - walk diagonally to run faster :o

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:25pm

A heist and backstabbing-simulator! Love the story-touch :)

bompo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:03pm

Web version doesn't work.
Chrome console says: Uncaught TypeError: Cannot set property 'innerHTML' of null

Ubuntu 12.10 Chrome 23.0.1271.95

chocobyte says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:31pm

Hey, this is weird. I just ran Ubuntu 12.10 Chrome 23.0.1271.97 on a virtual machine and I cant reproduce your error..

pillbrain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:32pm

I enjoyed it, was very hard to do much though, I think perhaps the collision detection with the police should be a little tighter (they kept arresting me when we were not touching). Overall though really good.

chocobyte says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Thanks man:)

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:32am

Very cute-hardcore little game. Well done!

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:57am

Works just fine.
I like the graphics :)

GagaPete says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:40pm

Good job. Except it is really hard to follow the buddy.

Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:37am

No idea what I'm doing, but felt compelled to move around and not get nicked. Good stuff.

Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:39am

Not bad, although I got frustrated when I found the boundaries of the level to appear to have exits which I couldn't pass through and ended up being caught! Collision boxes seemed a bit on the huge side for the resolution available. Upping the screen space would probably compensate for this in a minch imho. Some fitting graphics in here. Reminds me a lot of ye olde GTA.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Whoa, this game is really hard! Balance the challenge a bit and it'd be a blast!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]