December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Clowns Vs. Bunnies

by angela - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's all JavaScript so it should run in your browser. I haven't tested it in every browser (cause I've got less than 5 minutes left :)
I planned on having more than two levels but, I ran out of time.
You click on the clown to buy him, and then you can drag him where you want.
Enjoy!! :)

**added note** apparently not everyone shares my inherent fear of clowns. I picked clowns because clowns are evil!! and bunnies are so cute and innocent. I would make a terrible real life villain.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#210Audio2.91
#338Graphics3.00
#434Humor2.30
#456Mood2.63
#608Overall2.54
#640Fun2.18
#711Theme2.11
#751Innovation1.69
#854Coolness40%

Comments

suve says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:46am

Took me some time to figure out how to place a clown, but generally it's okay. Not much to look at, but hey, it works! (Well, apart from audio, at least for me).

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:23pm

This was a rather buggy experience. One clown did not really shoot anything. It was hard to finally be able to get a clown to be dropped. Then it appeared that a last clown instance from the last round did still shoot out of nowhere.
The mood was rather nice. But I kinda did not get the shoot at the theme here. It was a fun but short little game. Though it needs more gameplay.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:27pm

Nice music! Took a while to figure out what it was. A bit short and perhaps too unrelated to theme.

nolacoaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:27pm

I didn't really get it... Sorry!

alexlarioza says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:28pm

While I like the artwork and audio, the gameplay is a bit lacking. Clowns would often disappear after placing them. What's the point of money? My money never seemed to decrease.

angela says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:41pm

apparently not everyone shares my inherent fear of clowns... i was actually pretty proud of the collision detection between the clowns and the roads and other clowns. I guess I should have a made a visible field so people know that clown can't be placed there, instead of just making it disappear. it was my first video game

char68 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:42pm

I really likes the graphics assets you created, and the music fit the clown theme as well. I'm not quite sure how this would fit the "You are the Villain" theme seeing as I don't know the struggles of clowns vs mice, but as a clowns vs mice tower defense the idea came across well. Cool game!

Hazel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:48pm

Placing clowns was a bit awkward but I like the painted style and the music.

tompudding says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:37am

The music was excellent. I took me a while to figure out how to actually pick up the clown, but that may be because I'm an idiot.

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:53pm

Clowns! Bunnies! Classic tower defence game, it was a bit hard to place clowns for some reason though

Xavier says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:44pm

Classical tower defense :) but bunnies instead of creepers. I Don't like the graphic work of the bunny (from top is hard to recognize) and the clown is still visually friendly if you're afraid of them.

oldtopman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:13pm

A little short and not quite on-theme, but it is a game, and you did finish it, so points for that!

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:40am

Clowns are scary! I only missed one bunny on round 1!

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:37pm

Those poor bunnies! Don't you have a heart?

Loved the music!
The placing of clowns is a bit tricky, but you know that by now :)

gnx says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:15pm

Very simple tower defense game. That said, I do like the theme and generally the game has a nice mood about it.

Music is also very good.

Sestren says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:11am

The music was great, perfect blend of haunting and circus mood. Based on the music and graphics alone, I feel like there's potential for a very creepy, dream-like experience if a lot more were added to it.

Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:25am

Loved the music (creepy and clown like) and the presentation. A nice implementation of a TD game. I would have liked to see a little more variety in the clown just to vary things a little. The game froze after about 30 seconds every time I tried it (Safari / Mac)

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:15pm

It seems that clowns can't go everywhere, it would have been nice to indicate with some drawing code the place they are allowed to occupy.
The game is nice, and the music is wonderful.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:41am

Moody and horrific circus style music (OMG the circus with clowns, fire and brimstone) The click and then click and drag was unintuitive and the aim of the clowns is anti-Wayne Gretzky-like (i.e. they shoot where the bunny is, not where it's going to be) but the visuals and audio play well together. Tie it together and make the clowns look more natural (i.e. evil) and you've got something going here.

For reasons on why clowns are evil: read http://www.ihateclowns.com or play any recent Castlevania game.

garygreen says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:26pm

I liked the hand drawn graphics, the music and I get where you're coming from with the clown & the rabbits. It lagged a bit on my PC when I had a lot of rabbits, shots and a couple of clowns on the screen, but then again it's a clunky old PC unfortunately. Nice take on the Tower defence theme.

angela says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:27am

@zenmumbler - that site is awesome!! thanks for the link. my favorite part is the "slap the clown" game - I wish I'd have thought of THAT during the compo :D

eli says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Pretty creepy. I had a hard time finding where the clowns could be placed, but figured out how to do it before the first round was over. Yes, I imagine clowns can be somewhat evil **scribbles dubiously in notepad**

I don't mind short games, but it lacks depth. A few little touches might have helped, say a rating system to tell you how you did (minimize clowns, maximize death toll, etc.), or a timer or something. A few animations would not have gone amiss, even if the graphic quality was reduced!

Congratulations on your entry, and good luck!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]