December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Spot Colony

by 2DArray - Jam Entry

An exploratory game involving a growing hive of Spots. Put your tinkering cap on and see if you can figure out how to win.

I didn't spend as much time on this as I should have, but I got about twelve hours of solid work in and I'm happy with how it came out. Hooray!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#57Innovation(Jam)3.44
#140Fun(Jam)2.94
#165Graphics(Jam)3.21
#177Audio(Jam)2.69
#182Overall(Jam)2.94
#197Mood(Jam)2.71
#216Theme(Jam)3.00
#948Coolness32%

Comments

tim_u says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:53am

I didn't understand the point until I remembered the theme. The I really enjoyed burning it all.... Not a lot of strategy needed, but fun.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:03am

I...I seem like a b-bad person? ;'(
Enjoyable game though. :)

sclark39 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:03am

Didn't really get the point, but it was fun to make tons of spots spawn by holding Tab and then setting them all on fire with one click.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:14am

Could benefit from more detailed instructions. Might also help to clarify the connection to the theme.

sharbelfs says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:19am

i didn't get the point, but its a good game

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:20am

Man, it's so fun to fast forward and watch those particle effects when the hive catches fire. Nice work!

barret907k says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:13am

Could be something here. Instructions are lacking.

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:35am

I agree that it does need a little more instruction. I like the fire mechanic and once the concept clicks it is a fun game.

fhoenig says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:49pm

Very pretty. Is there a way to win/loose?

uncade says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:51am

I love the particle effects in this, and it's really satisfying when you can set a large group on fire. Great job!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:12pm

Innovative, but needs development.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]