December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Project Lightning

by dark_hunter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS HAVE BEEN CHANGE (BECAUSE OLD CONTROLS WERE NOT GOOD ENOUGH)

A mysterious girl is being released from her prison and she will bring chaos to everything in her path!

Uses XNA 4 and .NET 4. If the game won't run, then install them!.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#265Audio2.71
#309Graphics3.07
#368Mood2.77
#443Fun2.68
#477Humor2.19
#553Overall2.66
#650Theme2.43
#665Innovation2.21

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:01pm

Nice :)

drizzlybear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:51pm

I am on a laptop and don't have HOME or END-- Was really hard to play. Also, I was not able to move and shoot. This might be because of my keyboard.
Great job on the presentation though! :D

zompi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:53pm

Rather simple but enjoyable game and with really nice graphics. Awesome :D

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:58pm

Really impressive idea and graphics. I love how much effort you put into it being cinematic.

However I feel the actual gameplay suffers from the key bindings. I've never seen attacks mapped to the Del and End buttons before - and since you don't know where these will be on all the keyboards the game might be played with I think it is a bad choice.

Additionally it would be much better if you could aim independently of your movement. It would make the game easier (I found it very difficult) and you would be able to aim more precisely.

Also I'm surprised that your shots can collide with the shots of others. In the boss room this meant I could barely get any hits off.

But overall a pretty interesting game. You should think about developing it further.

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:00pm

Shooting controls are a bit hard for me, but overall it's a nice game. :)

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:32am

interesting while it lasted at least

maka3X says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:02am

yeah the controls are weird. Especially now that i tried it on different keyboard. it's something easily fixed but it's realy somthing to be cautious for.

I especially like the sounds (or maybe i'm just a retro geek).

I think the colliding shots are nice touch, becouse you may not hit the enemy with every shot but they can't hit you too (+ you can fire a lot more than they do). But it defenately needs longer gameplay to show if it's a positive or negative.

The graphics are nice.

Overall nifty little game. Not bad for first try with no preperations. (Yes, I know the guy). I enjoyed the whole 3 minutes :) will be waithing for more.

Freakill says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:17am

Nice game, but as other people, controls feel weird playing on a laptop (took me ages to discover how to advance text :/). I like the game content, art is really good and sounds go well with the experience. Mechanics feel really nice (despite the unconfortability of controls). The shooting reminded me of Metal Slug :D

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:12pm

Good presentation but unwieldy controls for firing combined with a bulletstorm made me die more often than I dare to say.

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:13pm

Attacks have an odd lag to them; boss, however, is "just barely" beatable, which is good tuning!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:49pm

congratulations! i really like this game - music, graphics, idea and gameplay.
you should add some quick restart - because when i died i wasnt able to re-run without reading all those dialogs again

delpes says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Wow. Very nice graphics. A bit short but very worth the play!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:33pm

Pretty nice game, although a bit too hard. I had to pretty much run past everyone to have enough HP left to kill the boss. Good job on making me laugh with the ending, too.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:04pm

Nice idea !

Clavus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:19pm

Bit simple and not that fun, sadly.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Can't play windows games :-(

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:32pm

The graphics are very well done, the game is too short, though.

blob says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:25am

Nice ending message haha :p
Close range felt useless ( except for blocking bullets coming from behind hehe) and shots seemed to come from your back but cool game overall.

awppy says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:20pm

Melee attacks should move with the player, I think, so it feels more like a sword. The ability to deflect bullets would be neat, too. The ability to shoot through walls confused me at first, but I quickly realised it's better to just leave all the sentries alone. If they're smart enough to stay out of the way, they don't have to die. Lucky them!

It's a good effort none-the-less, and the character sprites are pretty solid.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:51am

Even with the changed controls the controls are poor. Good artwork. When you lose you shouldn't have to quit the game and re-run it to start again. Not too clear why you are the villain.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:09am

A lot of work here ! I really like the graphics ! Too bad theme isn't much better integrated ^^

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:36pm

Seems like I'm the good gu.. person.

firestorm713 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:03pm

This was pretty fun!

Neonlare says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:10pm

A lot of these graphics are taken from other sources and the key bindings are really, really weird, but the game was pretty fun over all. Wish it was easier to handle though, DEL and END are pretty funky as far as keys go.

dark_hunter says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Actually I used a generator for RPG Maker XP for the sprites. If I recall generators are allowed to be used. Also I modified them (some more, some less).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]