December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Escape of the Blob Monster

by pl0xz0rz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game was made in 48 hours for the compo. You are a blob monster that was captured by fairies, but has escaped from the cage. It's a quest for food,revenge and escape.

EDIT: WASD to walk and jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#465Audio2.10
#617Humor1.82
#664Mood2.13
#718Theme2.07
#719Graphics1.79
#738Fun1.79
#745Innovation1.74
#757Overall1.98

Comments

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:37pm

Where can I find the control manual??

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:39pm

Ugh what a weird game. The graphics are kinda a bad choice with grey on grey with a hint of grey. It's like 50 shades of grey the game ;)
The music is veery annoying. So is the controls and the weird collision code. I could get stuck on nothing while falling down veeery slowly somewhere. Also figuring out the walljump was tough too. Once I had that I could even walljump off the roof ;)

Nice work on finishing something. It seems like your very first game so congratulations on that.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:41pm

I found the controls a bit weird. The bouncy collisions may fit the "blob" idea, but make the game kind of annoying.
Not sure how this fits the theme.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:44pm

Seeing the 30 minute timer when there are hundreds of games to test was a bit demotivating. Is the maze generated / infinite?

Nonakesh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:44pm

I think you should increase the gravity... bouncing around and sticking to the walls was kind of fun, but the low gravity made everything so slow.
Also the music is REALLY weird!

pythong says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:45pm

Apparantly, controls are WASD
The bounding boxes of your platforms aren't good, I had the feeling of being stuck several times. Also, the movement feels strange - I kept asking myself 'am I swimming?'

As another pointer - you didn't create a separate link for 'Source' - though I get, that it is web/javascript etc. and ppl coould download directly from web, you should still create a separate .zip/.rar file since there are ppl who rate with 1 stars if no src is given

Anyhow, congratulations on your first LD entry!

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:55pm

The 30 minute timer was caused by a typo, and I found it out when it was too late.

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:11pm

What i loved about the game is how the art style and music made it feel like it was a lovely world which made you feel very evil when you ate all the faries ;). However the collision detection seemed like it needed some work.

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:13pm

Sorry i take that back i like the collision detection and how it feels rubbery like you can bounce from walls and stuff (:

gilesa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:39pm

It gets annoying how the blob gets 'stuck' when it hits a ceiling or a wall. I did like the bouncy effect it had though.

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:51pm

JoeKinley pretty much said everything I'm thinking.

Zener says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:18pm

The collisions make it difficult to control

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:31pm

Love the atonal music and sound, not a bad game at all :)

Cabral says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:11pm

I'm not going to lie, this is awfully boring. The only "challenge" is wandering around blindly hoping to run in to more fairies before the clock runs out. Even the blob's motion seems unfun, since it sluggishly floats around. The music was kind of repetitive, but it's better than silence and you did add a mute button, so good job on that, and the grapics were pretty okay.

By the way, I'll remind you that you're allowed to fix typos even after the deadline, so I recommend you change that half-hour clock.

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:40pm

There is a lot of weirdness in this game. From graphics to controls to theme to music. But thats good. Somehow makes a good mix. Could have need a little more variety.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:56am

Quite a weird game. The graphics were ok but the music was kinda yick. I guess it's sort of fun but there's not much more to do than just run around and grab little vectors. :\

Rialgar says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:18am

ok, I get what you tried to achieve here and like the direction its going, what I would change though:
1. Fix the getting stuck somewhere thing, it makes players quit.
2. Give the player a sense of a target, e.g. showing the remaining number of fairies or how many there are in total
3. more colors, add some fill, let boxes be paintend in front, so the blob vanishes when colliding
4. I personaly do not like atonal music, but that's just me
5. Gravity and movement speed should correlate somehow, so either increase gravity or decrease movement spead, or let the player see a reason for the difference (being in space, having glide-wings, something like that)

Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:52pm

I managed to eat 45 fairies before giving up. The timer is far too long, I can't imagine anyone playing that long. It looks like you were trying to do something cool with the controls, but unfortunately they ended up being very hard to use. The graphics and audio could also use some work. Good effort though!

AyCe says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:02am

Got 38 before quitting. The physics are very blobby and the colors... well 50 shades of grey the game describes it very well ^^ In Firefox, the controls didnt work properly (because of search bar) and in Opera the sound was off, so I couldn't rate audio.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:56pm

The graphics were kind of odd and I found it annoying that the music was unmuteable. The game would be more fun if you fixed the issues we are having.

ceronman says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:12pm

Interesting concept. The physics of the game are weird. Music is really annoying.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:26pm

The movement at times seemed sluggish and you would fall really slow. While it might be a result of the game not being finished, it actually added to the surrealism of the game. I suspect the time limit was suppose to be smaller and was to add pressure on the player as other than that there is no danger to the player. With a bit of work, could actually be a fun game.

Norgg says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:22pm

Strange! I actually enjoyed the combination of the crazy physics with the crazy music and the abstract artwork, made the whole thing feel quite unique, even though the actual gameplay doesn't have much depth to it.

goerp says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:39pm

I actually liked the graphics, although the character didn't look very evil with his smile. I think the fairies deserved it.
Your game has music which is more than I can say. A few more sound effect would have been nice.
The music was kind of loud thought, but at least you had the option to turn it off.

Good effort.

schnerble says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:24pm

It feels a bit like a sandbox, as there's no target - e.g., number of fairies to eat - but still fun to have a mess around with for a bit. The mechanics are a bit unusual, in being able to bounce straight up walls, but there'd be potential for some puzzles with that given more development time.

tompudding says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:49pm

There should definitely be a goal, and the music should sound less like my nightmares if possible :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]