December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Trade Persuasion

by Mezzomatto - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first game ever (well, since Klik n Play). Some friends of mine got me started on the basics of Unity, Blender and JavaScript about 4 weeks ago and now here I am.

I used:
* Unity
* Blender
* Audacity
* Public Domain music from here: http://freepd.com/
* Caffeine

You've all been great.
Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#186Fun3.22
#219Overall3.26
#253Graphics3.22
#292Humor2.74
#315Mood2.88
#326Audio2.54
#476Theme2.94
#567Innovation2.43

Comments

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:39am

Haha, this is superb! Nice graphics, nice music, good gameplay and a wicked sense of humour. ;-D

(on a sidenote, for 4 weeks of Unity this is impressive!)

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:26pm

Thanks Dusty! I feel all warm and fuzzy now, though maybe that's just sleep deprivation. :P

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:08am

This was great. I loved how you could see the nuclear strikes hitting the planet. Visually, this was very well done. I would like to have had an auto-fire feature (click+hold to repeat fire), but this may have just been because I was playing with a trackpad.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:12am

Hehe, this was rather fun if a bit click-frustrating (lots of frantic clicking!). I like the idea and the execution is really well done.

Some things I noticed though were that everything has very fixed spawn points so that it becomes a chore to deal with the enemies as they all feel repetitive. A bit more randomness and potentially progression (introduction of new enemy weapons or behaviors) would have been a breath of fresh air.

The end was surprising and awesome. I was expecting to just lose and have a results screen, but having the dude escape and then quantifying the score as a human-cash-value of destruction was epic. I mean I dealt $53,800,000,000 in damages! Take that human race xD

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:12am

Really like the look and feel, nice particles!

rvmook says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:12am

Nice little game. At first I didn't really know what to do, but after a while I got the hang of it. I enjoyed playing it.

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:14am

Very fun!

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:16am

Well done on the entry. Quite fun to play. Also, congratulations on becoming an indie dev. We're glad to have you!

raincole says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:16am

The 3D graphic is great. I'm surprised by that you even made the escaping cutscene.

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:31am

Shucks guys! Thanks so much for the comments. And special thanks to Cake&Code for the constructive criticism. I know exactly what you're saying with the repetitiveness, I ran out of emotional energy and just left the shield and carrier spawns in one place hoping that the game wasn't long enough for it to be bothersome. Means a lot to get such commentary from a stranger!

GameRespect says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:58am

A pretty fun game, though it will benefit form more enemies/weapons, but since this is LD, it's awesome already!

tim_u says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:06am

Impressive for such a short time with your tools. While playing, I was wondering about the shield and carrier spawns. It seemed like a tactics thing. You had to chose between defeating the carrier or getting the shields. So, fun game. I liked it even if my mouse is now mad at me for tapping it so much.

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Nice game. The graphics are nice and like other I enjoyed the ending - much more engaging than your average gameover screen.

dek says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:06pm

I enjoyed the pre-aiming you had to do. Made me feel badass at times for hitting three in a row. :)

Codexus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:27pm

Nice game!
(By the way public domain music is not allowed in the compo category)

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:55am

Ah crap. Well what do I do now?

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:26pm

Frantic clicking was distracting, an auto-fire would remove that. I also had a huge urge to move the ship around with my left hand while firing with the right. My mind felt like I had to dodge the bullets coming my way. :)

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:29pm

Brilliant! Nice control over Unity, fun gameplay.

juaxix says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:19am

Super fun and spawn rates very well balanced, i have learned a lot with this one also!
Well done

fishbrain says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Very cool! I like this - fun and satisfying to play.

Winterblood says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:49pm

Fun game especially with so little practice with the tools! Nice balance of mechanics.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:02pm

Nice particles effects :) Fun game. Too bad there is no upgrades stuff, i wish there is more, but in 48h the work done is awesome !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]