December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Lets kill the king

by mkpictures - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is actually my first plateform game... And I didn't prepared the compo, so yep, it's ugly and absolutely not perfect.

You have to go to the find a way out, and kill the King ( Actually looking like the others, juste not moving ) in the level 4th to finish the game.

I haven't tested it on something else than my computer, so I don't know if it works fine on everything.

And thanks to my ShinFubuki ( @shinfubuki )who made the sounds :)

Edit: Now you can shoot without instantly winning, and the instructions are correctly draw on the screen.

It seem that on some computers running windows 7, the game crashes after like 10 seconds, doing weird black glitches on the screen, if it does, run the .exe in winXP compatibility.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#673Humor1.58
#705Theme2.13
#726Mood1.69
#762Fun1.60
#764Graphics1.25
#767Innovation1.40
#772Overall1.60
#930Coolness33%

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:00pm

It would not load :S

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:51pm

So... ok :|

It makes weird glitches here.

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:18pm

Good idea. Large bug though as whenever I pressed z I won. So I had to try and go through the level without shooting which was too hard to get through.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:26pm

....something is just wrong here. Why is this game so large and why does it need so many .dll's? And you can't fire the gun without instant winning.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Won't judge the music as it's not made by you. Collision detection is way off for bullets, I've unloaded warehouses of bullets into, um, red dudes and they pass straight through. Jumping also reacts late making the jumps in the 2nd screen annoying. Try a few more platformers and add some physics too! Too few platformers this LD.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:31pm

Press Z to win. Physics were a bit strange but for a first entry this is pretty good. :D

schnerble says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:33am

It takes a few goes to not get killed straight away... :| Could do with an intro area, maybe.

Griz says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Can't play it here, as it runs too quickly.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]