December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Ladron!

by rukbotto - Jam Entry

Ladron! was made by @davix1228 (http://twitter.com/davix1228) and @rukbotto (http://twitter.com/rukbotto) and it's our first game ever.

It's very simplistic and a bit difficult but we came up with something playable despite knowing nothing about creating videogames.

This game was made using:

- HaxePunk + NME.
- Pixen.
- Pixelmator.
- Sublime Text 2.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#160Theme(Jam)3.31
#232Innovation(Jam)2.56
#264Humor(Jam)1.89
#282Fun(Jam)2.19
#285Overall(Jam)2.42
#292Graphics(Jam)2.23
#304Mood(Jam)1.95

Comments

tcql says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:51am

Congrats on your first game :) I found it pretty difficult not to wake up the sleeping people... How slow should you sneak?

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:00am

Sadly I can't rate you highly just because it's your first game, but holy cow, you came into this knowing NOTHING about how to make games? This is extraordinary given that, keep up the good work, and keep learning!

rukbotto says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:37am

Thank you @tcql! Well, the game generates random noises when you sneak to make it a little bit difficult :)

Thanks a lot @DaGamesta! We cam here just knowing how to program... but a game is a lot more!

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:41am

Well done. I found it rather fun to just make a run for it sometimes and try and dodge all the bullets.

heloheu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:03am

Wow, for a first game this is very nice! Is there a way to pass through the people without waking them up?

rukbotto says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:10am

@heloheu yes, you can sneak: just press the S key while waking. You still can wake them up but you have more chance to get out the room without being noticed.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:33am

I sometimes got caught even while sneaking. Not sure if that was intentional. I held the sneak key down...not sure if i was supposed to sneak more slowly or not. Overall, it was a good first game!

illugion says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:12am

Hey nice game, its hard but i really enjoy playing sneaking games XD

rukbotto says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:20am

Thanks @illugion! I'm glad you like it!

@ThunderAwesome, yes, you will get caught sometimes even if you are sneaking. We did it that way to make the game a little harder... but I think we just make it a LOT harder! xD

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:46am

Nice. Found sneaking hard after first level. v cute and nice feel.

jfroco says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:08am

Congrats for your first game.. and for using HaxeNME. Sneaking...well you already know.

haxpor says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:18am

Nice concept but I found myself pretty hard to actually sneak around those guys. Maybe some sort of indicator to tell whether I'm doing good.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]