December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Necrusio and his Machine

by agumaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Macabre shooter made for the Ludum Dare 25 compo. Kill cops just to kidnap civilians and torture them in your machine. You need the blood of innocent people. SOURCE CODE INCLUDED ON THE WINDOWS ARCHIVE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#156Theme3.68
#240Audio2.80
#280Humor2.78
#326Mood2.85
#423Fun2.73
#453Overall2.82
#490Graphics2.64
#579Innovation2.41
#817Coolness42%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:13pm

Fun

agumaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:21pm

thanks :D

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:31pm

Haha, I began this game dying straight away, and thinking "Hmm. Seems a little difficult...", but I stuck to it, and I regret thinking that, as the difficulty was just about right. It wasn't a walk in the park, but it wasn't impossible either. It's always nice when a game makes you think tactfully - aided by some pretty decent level design. I enjoyed the music as well. :) I would say that the graphics were a bit weak, but I guess it depends how retro you wanted the game to be. Well done. :D

Ramuh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:50pm

Nice. Especially liked the music.

agumaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:59pm

pixelbear, that is a kind comment XD ! thanks, and yes, the game is not about running amok kiling people like rambo is more like thinkig a strategy :)

agumaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:59pm

thanks, the music is the most retro possible i could make XD !

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12pm

I like the idea of it and for the most part is executed really nicely. The music is pretty nice and the graphics are colourful.

My only two problems with the game are that you can't shoot in any direction - which would be fine but enemies can walk down towards you cutting you off. The second problem is that I kinda expected to get life back from getting the people into the machine. You really don't have enough health for the levels, especially once the green soldiers are there.

Overall a pretty cool little game.

agumaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34pm

thanks starspell ! your comment is helpfull :D !true the killed innocents should give you life back, like the story says :/

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:39am

Yeah I have two issues. One, not being able to shoot up or down... and two... hacking up the survivors should give a health recharge. Other than that, this is really rad. The music is pumping. Some may say the graphics were simple or whatever, but they fit the style very well. Almost like a trash punk kinda environment. I dig the door opening mechanic, but I certainly miss having sound effects. I wasn't able to beat it, but I'll keep trying! Good job!

Kuulog says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:00pm

Fun game, but a little tricky.

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:03pm

As said before a few tweaks to make a pretty fun game.

blob says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:56am

Haha "I loved a woman once but i needed her blood"

Nice music and oh boy, he puts the whole thing in the machine! Guess he doesnt mind having a bit of jeans and t-shirts to spice his drink.

agumaster says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:03pm

XD ! no, he uses the same dirty jeans, because he kill the wife that cleaned those jeans XD

nathanj439 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:46pm

The graphics and gameplay are solid, and the text blurbs on each level really add to the mood. Good entry.

agumaster says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:08pm

thanks a lot !!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:49pm

Nice. It was not too hard but still a challenge. I thought the way the gun knocked enemies back, but if there were more than one you became overwhelmed was good.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:17pm

I misunderstood the game a little and thought I'd regain health when I brought someone back to the shredding machine. Otherwise, good work!

agumaster says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:16pm

thanks :)

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:28am

It looks okay, although the sidewalk tiles look too similar to the wall tiles, and the perspective doesn't match the sprite bounding boxes. Also seems weird that combat is only horizontal, given the map layout. With polish this could be a fun romp, though.

Also sad that there's no sound effects, but the background music was pretty rockin'.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]