December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Battle Goats: The Card Game

by Pent - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a card game where fight a goat bot for points.
Your score is determined by the previous cards points multiplied by the winning element between your card and the previous.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#514Innovation2.54
#657Humor1.67
#711Fun1.92
#725Graphics1.77
#729Mood1.61
#742Overall2.08
#765Theme1.46

Comments

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33pm

I still don't really understand how the game works. I won though, so I won't complain.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33pm

I don't really understand this game...
Seems like there's no tactics involved. I just randomly clicked the PLAY CARD buttons and won 4 times in a row :/
Each game also lasted about 20 sec...

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:35pm

I tried to play it, I wish it had better tutorial + icon drawings on cards are not that intuitive. What is the white cloud? is it air? Then what is the purple cloud?

I think you have a very nice dynamics, but you really need a better description.

Still, good job man.

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Once I worked out some of the rules, this became rather interesting, though still nothing to do with the contest theme - it's an elemental card game with a nifty scoring mechanic, not a game where you are the villain!

A couple of strange things: Heart is, for the points you score when playing it, weak to all other elements; this isn't made clear, and also appears to make it an almost suicidal card to play. Also, you can redraw your hand at any time, even when it isn't your turn, to consume all your Action Points and thus end the game (possibly winning by virtue of having played the first and only card!). Just generally, the game's rules need some refinement; nonetheless, very interesting.

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:59pm

I really didn't understand this one, sorry.

Manest says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:13pm

Well... meaby need some line to explain because I don't understand what happen.
I'm not sure about the theme too.

Hazel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:26pm

Nice game once I got the rules, but could do with clearer instructions and it isn't really on theme.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:44pm

I don't really understand the rules. It takes too long for the bot to play a card. Although 'evil' and 'goat' is mentioned, I don't think it fits the theme...

illugion says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:37pm

There is a card that i don't really know what it is ._.

infernet89 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:15pm

Pretty hard to understand what's going on, but nice try making a card game! But, why there are only two button? At first draw there are three coiche..

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:20pm

Feels like a game of luck, would be great with more variety. With more time i think this game could turn into something great! But for 48 hours it's a solid game. Good job!

Zener says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:51pm

It took a while until I understood it. Good game, but I agree it could fit the theme better.

Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:44pm

Nice deck-visualization :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]