December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Princess Killer

by jahlgren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are in love with a beautiful princess... But she does not love you. Infact, she is gonna marry someone named.. Bob?

So what are you going to do about it?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#26Graphics4.22
#164Overall3.38
#182Audio2.97
#182Fun3.23
#198Theme3.58
#244Humor2.91
#298Mood2.91
#405Innovation2.76

Comments

edric_garran says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:41am

Good idea, but the game is impossible to finish...
Perhaps it would be better if the attack range was a bit longer...

angelk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:23am

Nice and colorful, the gameplay is fun but some balance work required. I feel like there's too many dudes, or too little damage done to the princess, or she walks too fast/ I walk too slow. I love the princesses five o'clock shadow :)

jahlgren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:33am

The game might be too hard. It's really hard to balance a game when you play it so much while developing! :)

There is also a bug with a tree disappearing but collision stays. I think it will only disappear if you succeed to kill the princess and restart..

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:48am

Very beautiful game - but there are way to many little dudes. That, or please give me a gun :)

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:51am

Great art work. I serious think I'm bullied by those villagers...lol

emveyh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:23am

Nice :) The graphics are great. Would be better if there were less villagers, though

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:49am

Nice idea, I like the art inspired by Zelda 3, but I'm having lots of issues being swarmed by the enemies, while not being able to defend myself. The attack range seems to be so short that I'm always hit, if I try to move while attacking. I'm not sure whether that's intentional, definitely something making the experience a bit worse.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:50am

Nice graphics, managed to finish it on second try.

It's good, I think it could use different weapons though, or increased attack area, because hitting the villagers is pretty difficult.

Peltast says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:59am

Aaaaaagh, I got her to like 1/20th of her health and then ran out of time. :( Maybe I'll try again later.

It's hard, but the only thing I would change is to add a little bit of reach to your attack. The number of little guys was fine, you just had to kite them a lot, which I found kinda fun.

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:20pm

Now I undertsand why my game seemed boring to you ;) Really good game, good difficulty for not beating it easily but for making the player eager to play again and bit the shit out of everybody! The graphics are realy good. As other people said, I think a good way to go further would be adding different attacks or weapons.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:25pm

I lol'd so hard when the crowd just swamp me. Well executed idea!

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:06pm

Awesome graphics, but there's way too many villagers, thus making the game too hard. That princess just keeps hiding behind them.

SirJson says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:12pm

That was challenging! But also fun :)

caasi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34pm

Love your pixel art! I hope I can draw like you someday.
Can't finish her yet, too many guys... too many....

nihilocrat says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:53pm

Pretty freaking hard! I like how it fit the theme by forcing me to chase a woman around and beat her to death, that's really uncomfortable.

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:32am

Awesome pixel art, and a crazy gameplay!

Wuhao says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:27am

nice graphics, but I don't get why he want to kill everyone, where killing bob will do?

CappaGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:54am

Like the Zelda inspired graphics. I would like the attack to have more range, but it was fun.

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:55am

Em... I don't like the story at all. That is: mine or no one's... phew... there are already way too many suckers in this world to make a game about it. It's polished, it's curious, but I'm glad I failed. We all deserve to fail on this game! :P (unless the ending is totally unexpected, that is)

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:00am

Interesting idea. But the game is quite hard.

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:40am

Excellent artwork! It is a little on the difficult side, but that makes beating it feel like more of an accomplishment. :) Some balancing or varying difficulty modes might work out well, but great work!

boena says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:53am

Nice graphics! Love the take on the theme :) Good job!

ddionisio says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:31am

Looks like the entire village, no, the entire country is out to get Sam...poor guy, I feel like he's the victim, not the villain. :( I love the art, it's got that snes feel to it.

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:41am

Great entry. It's a little too hard.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:55am

Nice, but i haven't finished the game, she just don't die.

23 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:01pm

That's extremely polished! With a few special attacks and some difficulty tweaks this would be a real winner.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:04pm

And I imagined the mission was to kill BOB :)

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:10pm

Okay so i think it's nearly impossible to survive, but it's a good idea and it's really nice !

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Fun! Agreed about the difficulty, but I loved the toejam&earl-link soundtrack and the concise storyline :)

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:49am

Hard but fun, after a while I just took it out on the townspeople...

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:42am

Very cool art and fun to play. But a bit difficult.

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:14pm

Nice graphics and shows promise. Like others I'm getting overwhelmed quickly making it impossible to win.

mmorphinee says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:44pm

nice but way too hard!

Houly says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:36am

It looks good, plays good and is hard as hell. There are to many Bobs in this world.

SiENcE says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:48am

Great graphic style and well done game design. Controls are a bit hard. I also have a QWERTZ keyboard ;-). Why not use mouse for targetting and WASD for movement?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]