December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A Game in Which You Attempt to Squeeze as Much Oil as You Can Out of a Poor Island Nation.

by Erik Price - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yes, I'm completely awful at naming things.

I suggest not tossing any money at windmills or recycling centers until you absolutely need them, they're expensive, and if you run into a dry spell, you're going to run out of money quickly.

Press escape to go back to the menu screen if you get stuck with not enough money.

And watch that ACT meter, refineries push it up quickly!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#152Innovation3.36
#181Overall3.33
#225Theme3.52
#284Fun3.00
#304Humor2.71
#345Audio2.48
#368Mood2.77
#451Graphics2.74

Comments

maackle says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:28am

Nicely done! There's a lot in this game for a short jam.

caasi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:42am

Need hot keys!

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:43am

Hahah love the name.

fakeshadows says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:52am

Wow, nice concept and execution :)

Great tutorial too!

namuol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:08am

Fun, but challenging. I never seem to have enough to pay for a refinery -- I tend to go bankrupt once I have 10-15 rigs built -- it's just hard to find the juicy spots. I'm willing to bet once you get to that stage things start to slide into place.

If you intend to keep working on it, I'd recommend highlighting squares high in resources so there isn't as much "mouse hunting".

gigimoi00 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12am

Very nicely done, Definitely needs hot keys.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:52am

I like management games, and this is reasonably functional for an LD game. You could use a graphics artist, though.

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:07am

I really liked the game. The managing is really well balanced for being a challenge. One has to keep track of money really carefully as it is "easy" to spend it in seconds jejeje.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:08am

Awesome game. Don't know how you pulled it off. Outstanding.

Xheis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:14am

I found it quite hard to extract da monies in the first playthrough, but the second game went well. Awesome game man.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:17pm

Wow. A tutorial. Great work.

I think I would have made the last selected build option "always on", since having to go back to the bar and select it again was a bit of a pain. Then again, I am a lazy bastard so that could be coloring my opinion somewhat.

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:40pm

Hey, we had the same-ish idea! (uid=9199)... your gameplay is more complete, but mine spins in a circle ;) Great minds!

haxpor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:27pm

I can see myself not building any windmill or recycle, only probe then squeeze out !
Reading text description on each building gives good sense of humor, like the word "useless".

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:16pm

great content, awesome name!

leafo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:45am

cool game, you did a lot here. Thanks for the tutorial.

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:31am

I got a 404 error.

Sestren says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:53pm

Winning seemed fairly straightforward, but overall I like the concept and the basic gameplay. The activism meter for me never seemed to come into play, and the improved oil rig never seemed worth it to buy. That said, I'd love to see this idea expanded and refined further.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]