December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Fear Inc.

by luclabelle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click the hotspots around the world to orchestrate acts of terror.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#41Graphics4.12
#182Innovation3.27
#236Mood3.03
#245Theme3.47
#310Overall3.09
#329Audio2.53
#603Fun2.30
#704Humor1.38

Comments

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:46pm

Love the graphics!

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:47pm

Incredible graphics with fun gameplay. I got stuck when I ran out of cells, but it was fun before that.

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:47pm

Great feel and design, although it isn't an awesome game. Great job!

dek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:48pm

Very beautiful.

Ashkin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:50pm

The graphics are great, but the music/sounds don't really fit- too lo-fi. As for the gameplay, I found it difficult, and sometimes difficult to understand. I wasn't able to win.

dom2d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:51pm

A real great entry here. The time limit seems cheap - it could have been another variable that you can affect with terror action, trying to prevent dismantlement of your operation!

Catmoo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:52pm

Had a great time playing it until I ran out of cells and couldn't do anything else :) Nice looping ambient track and a nice way to go to the theme

Winterblood says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Lovely visual style, although a bit tricky to navigate. Bit too fast-paced to have any sort of strategy though, I found it hard to keep every city busy doing anything let alone make informed choices. If each action took longer to complete but had a bigger payoff, it would be more tactical. Hope you develop it further, 'cos I'd enjoy a more strategic version :)

supermaximo93 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:54pm

Looks very nice! I didn't find it very entertaining though.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:55pm

Fact - graphics is great!

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:54pm

Graphics and sound were very good. Couldn't quite reach some of the options on the lower cities - could be because i have a small monitor. It's very hard - good game tho :)

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:55pm

Nice idea. It was hard though and sometimes weird. Sometimes when I wanted to recruit terror cells it told me that I needed cells. Maybe I missed something (most probably even).
Though it made fun to click around and do some terror stuff, although it was weird and I mostly just clicked around waiting for stuff to happen. Like fear factor rising. But this was pretty low most of the time.

Good work though. Was a fun little game with awesome graphics and a nice approach to the theme. Also very innovative, haven't played something like that before.

tomvert says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:55pm

I loved the graphics !

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:58pm

Graphics and concept are really cool, a bit to difficult for me.

Hazel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:59pm

Great graphics, really suits the concept.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:38pm

i love matrix style in background and moving earth around
but the game is to simple, not to say dumb :)

alexlarioza says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:41pm

Loved that globe! Fantastic work on the art! :) I had a hard time figuring out how to play it though as it took me a few click to realize the text under the locations were menu items.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:42pm

Very good graphics, mood and concept. But I think the gameplay is broken as you completely run out of cells at one point. Unsure of the replay value.

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:46pm

Very nice mood. Also liked the music and art design. Great job!

cdata says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:26am

Currently the dropbox link is broken for me.

OxyOxspring says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:35am

Gorgeous graphics!

Drabiter says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:23am

No unity web for linux unfortunately.

csanyk says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 1:50am

Great mood, but not much gameplay. Just selecting menu items on a rotating 3d globe. I see potential here, but it's not realized yet. A little eye candy to illustrate what's going on in the world, a heat map or some icons, and some particles, and a better HUD showing your current status would help things out.

michax says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:01am

Nice tech minimalistic look. Interesting gameplay, forced me to constantly looking for resources. It would be nice to have bigger font for informations below action buttons. Otherwise good entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]