December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A Heroic Sacrifice

by falnos24865 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#339Innovation2.92
#371Theme3.20
#648Mood2.18
#651Humor1.69
#652Fun2.16
#715Graphics1.83
#720Overall2.17

Comments

gesangbaer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34pm

This game felt like the prototype for "Badman" for the psp.

falnos24865 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:45pm

I will have to take a look at that one.

Lidfrid says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:29pm

It's kind of hard to understand what to do the first time.

Polish this! :)

GJ

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:16am

Is it possible to win this? My kind of developed hero was slain near instantly by the pink octopus of doom. Fun idea of building up a resistance of the hero by pitting him against monsters. Original!

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:18am

The story is kind of mandatory. Otherwise you understand nothing.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:25am

All it took is an orc and that hero was pretty much done. I like the game mechanic, something that can definitely expand to a polish game.

infernet89 says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:04pm

Really hard to understand..

schnerble says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:20pm

Great use of the theme, and a unique idea. Good work! I often had a bit of trouble clicking fast enough, and when I accidentally sacrificed a minion in one game it was much harder to catch up from there, but I enjoyed playing it :)
(the help is pretty much a must, though)

Dew says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:06pm

why did u do everything with ajax there are easy ways to do it ^^U

TehSkull says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:40pm

Didn't really know what to do from the beginning which hurt my want to continue playing. Adding some details and instructions at the beginning would help :)

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:45pm

Was a bit lost first time so I died :( second time was better :)

Fun game.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 8:07pm

Game concept is okay, but everything happens way too fast and there isn't any introduction to get you into the game. Needs more polish.

falnos24865 says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 2:24am

The story / instructions screens were the best I could come up with in time. But I agree it is a hard game concept to get across quickly to new users. And as for using AJAX I find it much easier to work with then most other languages I know (such as Java and C#/XNA)

lotusgame says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:46am

only works with chrome :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]