December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Get off My Lawn

by Mieville - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made in XNA

Your a behemoth hanging out in your awesome field wondering why you keep getting attacked by all these packs of pesky adventurers. Well this is your home you ain't giving it up without a fight.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1012Coolness26%

Comments

Tate says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:41am

Nice! Throw back to some classic RPGs! Great job.

char68 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:51am

Kinda funny seeing yourself as the foe fighting the good guys. But the gameplay was stuck as a simple RPG style with nothing interesting (and progressing really slowly). It would be cool to see a game developed taking on the role of the "random encounter" minion and see how they get to the position they are in. I liked the godzilla stomp! Took me a bit before I realized I could use it :)

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:19pm

I liked the "Call Friend" feature. Gameplay was simple but obviously got a little repetitive. I did find a small bug, when I killed the green wizard first, I could only select the white wizard to attack on my next turn, even though the red and blue wizards were still alive.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:36pm

It crashes for me when trying to open the exe :( I don't know why.

tomvert says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Nice one !

garygreen says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:10pm

Unfortunately I couldn't play this, as my computer gave me a message - "No suitable graphic card found." So, it's probably my clunky old PC at fault!

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:52pm

RPGs appear to have conditioned me to think that the Behemoth was attacking me! Thanks for clearing that up.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:38am

It won't run on this machine, which is a shame as based on the screenshots, I really, really want to play this game. Will try again on my other machine soon!

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:48pm

No suitable gfx card... Damn you XNA guy with your future hardware requirements! Why can't you make something less visually advanced?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]