December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A True Story: The Villain

by auhsoj_ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is the utter truth about video-game villains... none ever succeed.












If you played the game and are stuck, here's a tip

You Lose. You're the villain. You never succeed.




The Real Story: I didn't have enough time. Not a good weekend. And I didn't really think that this was worthy of a goat. :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#688Humor1.50
#739Mood1.38
#748Theme1.79
#751Graphics1.53
#770Innovation1.29
#771Fun1.08
#776Overall1.25
#1012Coolness26%

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:56pm

I think my brain hurts now >.< Nice try though not to bad.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:25pm

There's not much to do in this game.
The villain's design was good though. Too bad you didn't have time to finish a proper entry.

xandrew says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:21am

Well that's one take on "You are the villain" ;)
The gameplay was smooth, graphics were nicely done. The only downside was the level progression did get a bit repetitive...

auhsoj_ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Yeah, i actually had some animations for walking, but I only had a walk right one, so i didnt put it in as it would make it seem akward because hed only be half animated.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:32pm

Ashame its not finished but still, its not easy to get something done in a week end sometimes! Next time might be better ;)

Zener says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:56pm

Nice attempt,pleade invest more time on it.

Neonlare says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 4:38am

Avant-Garde. Witty. Deep. Philosophical. French Fries. I cried 20 minutes before starting this game.

Benjamin says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 4:45am

The smooth black fade is perfect, that's +1 mood & graphics !

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Haha, nice spin! :D Looking forward to seeing you try again next time!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]