December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Goatocalypse

by atrodo - Jam Entry

This is a story of a simple man that just wants to take care of himself and his minions after the Goatocalypse. Doesn't matter that he caused it. But some hero has decided that his goat based technology needs to be stopped. Good thing that this simple man has several weapons ready to use. He just hopes that the hero doesn't defeat him and gain his weapons. If that happens, there's always the next round with the next minion and the next weapon.

Note, there are no actual goats in the game, just the title.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#240Fun(Jam)2.44
#279Audio(Jam)1.00
#281Humor(Jam)1.78
#292Mood(Jam)2.07
#309Innovation(Jam)1.94
#310Overall(Jam)2.21
#312Graphics(Jam)1.94
#324Theme(Jam)1.70

Comments

bentog says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Cool fighting game, but how exactly do you shoot goats?

Sim says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:37am

A simple game but fun for a few minutes. Some more complex strategy such as blocking would be nice. Also the enemy is off-screen half of the time, perhaps the camera should try and keep both characters on the screen.

Radiatoryang says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:15am

wish the enemy AI was better, or had more pattern variation at least, I just waited until it landed and sworded it pretty easily

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:16am

Ha, I just kept gaining stuff, I wish I could have used the power of goat though...

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:38am

The game is way too easy. It's possible to just spam the shooting button faster than the opponent to win every time (or at least as far as I got which was 15 rounds). Also a bit an annoyance is that the shot is not fired in the direction you last pushed but in the direction you last moved (as in if you were moving in one direction and tapped the other direction and it only slowed you down, the bullets will still be going in the direction opposite of what you pressed).

Gazok says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:38am

Looks like it has the potential to be a really cool fighting game. Right now, it seems like it's too easy to just sit there and shoot in one direction, though. Also, a lot of the bullets blend in with the background :/

crashbanito says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:31pm

The game can be fun for awhile, but it is ridiculously easy to cheat the AI into just standing there while you wail on them. The directions are a bit misleading as you can change weapons with more than just the 1-4 keys. The upper two unlockable powers are also a bit bugged in they don't highlight and the final bullet type doesn't seem to work.

metadept says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:19pm

Runs smoothly and collision seems to work well. I didn't notice much of any difference between the weapon types and, as previous comments have mentioned, there should be a way to block/reflect bullets.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:30pm

Interesting duel game. However it's way to easy. Once you win you become really too powerful and the enemy doesn't. Also the only way that the game addresses the theme is that the player is black and his healthbar is on the right. Love the background, though !

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:47pm

The first two fights are fun while you figure controls. Then you can complete all the other levels with bullet spam.

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:53pm

Neat concept :) The enemy AI works good and it's fun trying to beat it. Changing my weapons didn't work for me, though :(

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:56pm

This could have been cool if the different weapons actually had any effect. As far as I could tell, they're the same - also, when it said I unlocked something, I actually unlocked the next one?

Like others have said, it unfortunately just became "Go to ground, hold fire button".

Lidfrid says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:33pm

Bullet and Sword spam on all the levels.

The map could change in many different ways!

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:09pm

simple style, nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]