December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Happily Ever After

by GameRespect - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a pretty slow game (especially later), and more story focused (if you can call it a story).
It's definately not for everyone, but maybe you'd like to take a break from all the 'action-y' games and listen to a story.
I hope you enjoy it, and I apologize for any bugs! (I can't reupload a fixed version right? D:)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#29Mood3.80
#56Audio3.49
#200Overall3.29
#348Innovation2.91
#383Theme3.18
#530Graphics2.52
#592Humor1.91
#608Fun2.29

Comments

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:42am

This was pretty sad. ;_; But a decently told story, I guess. Everyone has their reasons for their actions...

Also, there's a bug (I think) when you leave the apartment without talking to her. You can't go back in and you can't go back to your job, so you get stuck. I had to reload and start again.

bwdevel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:18am

I loved this! Maybe because this is the same job that I have....

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:20am

Well done! I really like the style. The simple graphics and piano play goes well together.

Its fascinating how "less everything" can sometimes yield a larger player experience.

Unfortunately, the game bugged out so I didn't finish.

Why did the dark blue guy had to go to jail? :(

Cy4n1d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:20am

Think you missed the theme a little bit but the idea was very funny. :-)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:23am

Reaaaally love the way you subverted the platformer mechanics to tell a very different story.

I'm a little muddled as to what was happening in the first altercation, just before the police take you away. Didn't wreck it for me though, the ending was quite poignant.

A fine first effort!

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:25am

'was a well told tale. Would've been nice if it was a bit longer and a bit more like a game.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:29am

oops, you've got to continue after The End . . anyway on the second try I really could play the villain.

I liked it. It was a shame that it was in the ' loud' environment of newgrounds with all the advertisement. It deserves a spot on its own.

I liked the graphics and the icon balloons fitted that really well. Sound effects were good, although I think the walking/jumping sounds were a bit less good.
The mood was also good.
A bit more instructions would be good as well. I got stuck very early but didn' t know if I shuold use an action button of some kind or if it was a bug. Did I talk to the woman by going up to her or should I have done something else as well?

fakeshadows says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:49pm

Sad story! Well put together.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:26pm

The story is well told. The "talks" are really great. Graphic + music go well together. I really liked the job thing.
Well done.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:28pm

I loved how it felt like a silent movie, nice job with the imagery!

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:38am

very sweet, nice!

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:39am

now I'm sad...But a well made game indeed...

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:44am

i wasn't really into this. way way too heavy-handed for me, and that kind of ending is way overdone imo. this is coming from someone who often likes "art games" too. though i like the metaphor of jumping up and down on a red button over and over for work.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:48am

I've got mixed feeling on this one. I understand it's not really a game and accept that it's a story with some game mechanics; but I think I would have liked it more if I could sympathize ore with the antagonist (considering the villain theme). I'm trying to think of something that would help the story a bit; possibly something involving the wife actually at the jail. To be honest, I initially thought that he was trying to kidnap his wife back from a lover, and I also think now that he was doing the kidnapping for the bigger payout to satisfy his wife, but I think these points were a little too vague in the representation.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:51am

The game really set up a strong mood after "The End". The ending with the villain sent chills up my spine. Nice work.

RosyPenguin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:54am

That ending sent chills down my spine. I like the shift in perspective and the story that was told entirely through speech bubbles

Toadpud says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:14am

Not a bad story, but since you had to walk back and forth so much, I felt like the character should have moved a lot faster.

illugion says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:26pm

That was sad.. I like the way that the graphics were simple but i think the sound effects were a bit off, good game anyways !

Nolan C says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:36pm

Wow. At the first "The End" I was like "what is this" but then the big twist changed my mind. Only complaint is the movement is so slow, but I guess that helps set the mood.

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:32pm

:D

Houly says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:27pm

The music was great and really helped the whole thing. You got me at the »The End« Screen, in this moment I thought what a borin game. But then it really began. Nice twist :)

fishbrain says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:02am

....awwwwwwwwwwww ;(
Well done!

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Pretty sweet that your job was to squash some red button looking thing. I can only guess that red thing was a cat. Interesting game, great job with audio and cutscenes.

Infin8 says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:37am

Nice game! Kudos for the effective use of imagery for storytelling, seems like all the players got it and appreciated it.

csanyk says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 3:04am

The Audio is remarkably good at making up for the primitive graphics.

Start_ says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Love the music & mood!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]