December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Evil Foot Race For Kittens

by JFlegle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

***Note*** The Web build has been moved to dropbox and should work in Chrome.

Evil Foot Race For Kittens

Two Evil Knights decide to steal a bag of kittens from a village. Who will win the prize?

controls:

A - switch to sword and shield, left arrow attacks, right arrow blocks arrows and spears

S - switch to great axe, left arrow attacks, right arrow jumps over spikes

D - switch to javelin, left arrow attacks quickly, right arrow attacks at long range

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#229Innovation3.16
#389Audio2.33
#413Humor2.36
#518Fun2.52
#563Overall2.64
#605Mood2.29
#625Graphics2.20
#704Theme2.14

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:47am

I love when someone tries a different take on the old track and field style games. I felt like the computer opponent was a little overpowering and I never could keep up. The idea is really nifty, but I never saw that guy falter so it felt like a lost cause after 5 or so tries. Also, it seems that the balance between tools/weapons is a bit off. Really cool game, just wish it was a little more welcoming/balanced.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:48am

The item selection and animations were cool but it seemed very difficult. The graphics seemed to be really low resolution. almost faded.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:53am

Interesting idea, though the controls a a bit unwieldy. I found myself flailing about with the controls to figure out what I needed to do. As a suggestion, you might be better off making A, S, and D dedicated to one of actions rather that a control mode so that the player doesn't have to remember what mode they are in.

AaronYip says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12am

I like the flames. (: The UI is a great touch and much needed with so many controls and actions. But still it was too much to take in for me. :( I just ended up falling a lot and just throwing javelins. If you had the time to gradually adjust players into it or game options (only needing s&s for the first play through, then adding axes next, etc), that would have helped a lot.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:07am

Very fun, really liked the race concept

lekochen says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:20am

Excellent work on the game balance. I feel very satisfied beating the game. Well done.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:42pm

For whatever reason, the web version causes a plug-in error. I'm using Chrome and my web plug-in is up to date.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:22pm

I liked the idea of switching weapons, but the weapon abilities and switching was a little too slow to be natural. Nice idea, but it should be more flowing.

JFlegle says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:40pm

@Dark Acre, Im using google sites and I haven't found a good way to run scripts on the web page so the embedded player doesn't seem to be working in chrome, fire fox is alright. As a back up I have the web version for download.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:09am

I like the idea, but the controls are too complicated and you essentially have to remember color/item combinations, which isn't that bad, just making everything more complicated than necessary.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:24am

Fun, but couldn't win, even once :')

suve says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:43am

I like the race concept, brings back memories of old games. The controls were bit hard to grasp at first. The audio is simple, yet very fitting. Good work on the balance, it took a few tries to win.

RatDog_Adam says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:33am

Interesting game but the controls were a bit difficult to use

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:59am

Couldn't get it to load...I'm using Chrome in Windows 7 if that's relevant.

ElScootro says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:00pm

Great concept, I really like the track and field thing. Are you able to win the game? I couldn't seem to ever get ahead.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:39pm

Can't win T_T

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:37am

Good thing I'm not a pilot because keeping track of 3 sets of commands and the active command is clearly too much for me. Also, the computer never stumbles which is discouraging. I'm sure if you win it feels good but for me that's a big if.

AumaanSnake says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:30pm

It's a good idea, but was a little confusing understand the controls.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:54am

Quite like the idea, but it's too difficult I think. The other guy doesn't make mistakes and the controls are somewhat cumbersome.

Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:07am

Liked the idea of a race with another person. The controls were too complex imo and it's never a good idea to change the action on a key based on another key. Would much prefer to have just had dedicated jump keys etc. I think you could keep the concept and rework the controls and have a fun little game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]