Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Satan's Booger - ddionisio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

***UPDATE***
Tweaked some difficulties as seen from comments. Those jerks with the hearts are somewhat killable now. Also, spikes show up sooner. Lastly, you warp to the other side, so as to not stop your rampage ;) Thanks for the feedbacks! I made a separate link as a revise just in case my changes are considered illegal.

If you think the changes are fine under "MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO", then by all means play the updated one! :)

Requires the Unity 3D Web-Player.

In order to compile, it needs: Unity3D 3.5 (haven't tested on 4) (free/pro), NGUI and 2D Toolkit (place their source code in the Assets folder).

View ddionisio's journal. | View all entries by ddionisio

Ratings

Coolness100%
#214Graphics3.35
#284Fun3.00
#314Innovation2.99
#332Theme3.28
#352Overall3.01
#355Humor2.57
#492Mood2.56
#550Audio1.58

Comments

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:07am

I like it. Couldn't see what was coming off screen so it felt a bit random. Like the mechanics of building up momentum and getting larger.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:08am

Those katamari things picked my booger. Solid ideas in there, would benefit from sound & more things to kill.

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:32am

Would greatly benefit from some sound, and a greater variety of enemies, but a fun little game :D

FireSlash says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:41am

Couldn't seem to figure it out. the guarding doesn't seem to work in reverse, I only take damage when I guard? pink heart dudes kept stealing my coins, and losing momentum at each wall was annoying.

I kind of just want to go into super fast crazy murder ball mode and not stop for anything.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:07am

I like the art and interesting gameplay.

Xymostech says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:22am

Nice game. I felt like the gameplay got a little stale after the 4th or 5th level, but before that it's a lot of fun.

TomK32 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:26am

It's missing the music but otherwise a great entry for this ld48. Amazing how many 2d games have been created with Unity this time.

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:49am

I feel the art could have used some consitency, but I -really- liked the idea behind the spikes only coming out at a minimum speed!

Prelucid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:06pm

Nice game, works smoothly

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:58pm

Great game, but I'm stucked by the 2nd level baby.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:46pm

Hahaha angles with swords!

Liked it, nice game!

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:46pm

*angels

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:51pm

Cool art! Fun title too

iandioch says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:42pm

Liked the game, the highlight was definitely the graphics! WHO'S A CUTE LITTLE ANGEL WITH A SWORD?!

GFM says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:12pm

Nice game!

The worst enemy was by far that bastard with the heart... how am I supposed to kill it without being hit? >_<

Also, not being able to change direction keeping the speed (to try and hit those from behind) was also troublesome...

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:16am

Very nice idea, I would love to see it though with the payer character having less inertia - changing direction imho take too much time to properly react

zimra says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:24pm

Loved the player design ! I agree on the fact that it'd be nicer with a little less inertia, but other than that, pretty cool game ^^

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:36pm

Very fun. I got stuck at level 2... those heart dudes were tough at that size. The final boss was pretty surreal, too... I'm not quite sure I understand it, but it was an interesting experience. Great work, and interesting (and funny) take on the theme!

ddionisio says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:38am

I realized people can comment on their own entry...Thanks guys for the feedback, really helpful! Yes, changing direction breaks the attack flow...I think it should have just remain an attack, and have the speed give a bonus damage (fire comes out for added effect!). Also, the "guard" could have been something more awesome. Most especially, there needed to be more enemies and bigger level bound.

The boss btw, I didn't have time to create...so it's a placeholder :P

Aslai says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:52am

I had a really hard time killing the guys with hearts, since my spikes went away every time I was forced to turn around, and I'd get cornered.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:17am

Ok, seems like those guys with a heart are hard to kill, so I updated the game. I would recommend trying it out before rating, I think it is ok under "MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO".

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:28pm

I kinda miss that there isn't any sound during the game itself (or doesn't seem to be!). Art and gameplay is quite fun though. I like the way the size changes between sections.

csanyk says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:06am

Strange, fun game.

Xavier says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:27am

Really strange game but funny!

pereubu says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:02pm

like the idea, but the "i can only hit you while running" is more frustrating than productive, this game is still very enjoyable and i had a nice time, great job :D

Dew says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:43pm

Great game, great music, great controls I really wanted more!!

brantkings says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:12pm

Good. I liked the whole Cave Story leveling system, I believe. Could have used sound effects, though.

lotusgame says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:48am

Nice game. The concept of lives and growth is really interesting and fun ! I finished the game.. and i want more.. it's a good point for you ;) Congrats

Mago says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Fun game, I really like the idea with getting bigger and bigger

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Scaling on level up is a cool effect, the last "enemy" is somewhat disturbing (wut) and I could finish the original version just fine. Sound is the main missing ingredient here and up to the dudes with swords you can just blast left to right and win. Nice visuals and original idea!

donmilham says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:50am

HELL YEAH! Nice game. I noticed a definite difficulty hump about mid game. The game skills also took me a few fails to master. Good intro music, but didn't notice any other sound during the game play.

(I played the Updated version, so I'll be checking out the original submission next.)

Colapsydo says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:39am

I Like the variety of enemies and the evolution of the gameplay. Nice idea for the reverse leveling instead of dying.
The non updated version seems really impossible, The update version instead is challenging.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:29pm

It's a fun game, but it felt repetitive very quickly. If you add more variation, I'm sure it'll be great! :)

Loved the graphics and the concept, too, btw!

Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Go unity! Great stuff. Smooth transition through levels, clean graphic style, and nice use of the theme. Cheers!

rvmook says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Cool idea, I like that you don't immediately die when when your life hits 0 but just lose a level. The updated version was much more playable but unfortunately I don't think it falls under the "MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO" kind of fix. I liked the game and the art none the less!

Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Nice graphics and gameplay! Even if it is a bit repetitive. There could perhaps be bit more enemies.

Why no music and sounds in the gameplay though? you could have reused the title theme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]