December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Stealther - The Great Heist

by Volpes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple Stealth game.
You play as a thief who must steal a sacred artefact.
Avoid the guards by sneaking past them.
Move using WASD or Arrow Keys.
The game does include a Goat, but it is up to you to find it!
Considering my previous games, I find it pretty good. Especially because the art looks like art.
The game might be a bit bogus, but I hope it works for you!
Written in Java, and is my first entry for Ludum Dare.
Sound and music disabled because of many bugs associated with it :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#397Overall2.92
#415Graphics2.81
#423Fun2.73
#534Mood2.46
#588Theme2.65
#602Audio1.21
#604Humor1.86
#650Innovation2.24

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:17pm

Interesting game play :3

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Cute. The movement was a liiiittle bit slow, I'm impatient and would like to have been able to run a bit faster. The character models are fun :)

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Can't play on my 1366x768 screen, dammit! Kinda fun still, trying to guess what the bottom few tiles are

Madball says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:06pm

Fun and addicting. Good job!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:33pm

Would have been better if I could see the bottom few tiles, but it is pretty fun anyway

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:45pm

could not see the bottom part of my screen,

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:24pm

I enjoyed this Game but had trouble to play it on my 13" laptop. You might want to lower the default resolution for your next time ;). But good idea ;)

delpes says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:38am

Nice game but as others my screens to tiny :D Love sneak games so gonna try it when i'm home at my 24'' screen ;D

Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:57pm

It feels pretty clean, though it does feel a bit slow. Stealth games are fun (In my opinion, of course) when you have the choice to move fast or slow, depending on the situation.
All in all a solid entry though.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:05am

Fun to play for a bit, but the mechanics get a bit old too quickly. Maybe add some more variety such as walls that open and close? Speed powerups? An emp-type effect to disable flashlights? Something to add some spice :)

As others have pointed out, the resolution is far too big. My computer is 1440x900 and because of the title bar the game just barely doesn't fit height-wise which means if the exit was at the bottom I couldn't see it. Also the movement felt a little bit too slow. Oh, and the instructions said I could use wasd or the arrow keys but the arrow keys only seem to work in the menu?

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:39pm

I liked this one, and it is reminiscent of a few other games that have been pretty popular in Ludum Dare. I liked that you had different kinds of guards and cameras, the variety was a nice touch.

By the way, if you're looking for a better host than dropbox, you might consider the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. Either way, nice work!

Jan 7, 2013 @ 5:27pm

I liked the different guards and levels. It's a pity that you had to leave out the music, that would add some mood. At first I didn't like the slow walking speed, but I got used to it, and it made the game more challenging. :)

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Faster movement would be nice, maybe with a bit of acceleration, not too much.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]