Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Silent night - krutech - Jam Entry

Hello!

We are finished and it took us roughly 30 hours!

The crew:
Thomas: Code and game design.
[email protected]

David: Sound, level design and game design.
[email protected]

Daniel: Art, level design and game design.
[email protected]

The Game:
It is Christmas Eve and The Grinch has decided once again to ruin the holidays!

Silent Night is a tactical stealth game featuring 6 levels, dynamic lights, dynamic sound, super cool AI, pixel art and a christmas tree!

Goals:
Collect all the gifts and escape in the shortest time possible.

Tools:
XNA
C#
Farseer
Pro Motion
Pyxel Edit
BFXR
Milkytracker

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kyLTwdl3xIM Timelapse Thomas
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=njB3hxRYDIk Timelapse David
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q2udlgypzYA Timelapse Daniel

Enjoy!

View krutech's journal. | View all entries by krutech

Ratings

Coolness100%
#37Fun(Jam)3.55
#38Theme(Jam)3.94
#41Overall(Jam)3.67
#44Mood(Jam)3.50
#72Graphics(Jam)3.85
#78Humor(Jam)3.15
#97Innovation(Jam)3.20
#174Audio(Jam)2.72

Comments

RokB says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Really nice game. It's a great concept and the way you made it play out was also pretty fun.

tomvert says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Very good graphics and mood !
I had a bug, i see the alpha on the snow, it's pink.

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:45pm

This is a really well designed and polished entry. Most importantly, it's fun and challenging to play. Well done!

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:43pm

Great game! Character is painfully slow, but top effort overall.

krutech says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:44pm

You can sprint with shift =)

supermaximo93 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Socks again?! Made me chuckle. Very nice and polished! Really liked the graphic style. Movement is a bit slow though. I think it would be good if you could hold down a button to run, at the expense of being louder and alerting the people.

supermaximo93 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:55pm

...Ignore my comment about being able run *facepalm*

timtipgames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:56am

Hey guys, very nice game you made! I found the snow outside a bit disturbing but other than that I really liked the graphics. The gameplay has a nice speed to it.
I really am a fan of the line-of-sight concept - so no surprise that I made a very similar game to this (for the compo though). Check it out and let me know what you think :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:11am

Charming.

strong99 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:40am

Fun and challenging to play. Really good and polished. :) Had some issues with running too.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:46pm

I wasn't able to open doors without awaking everyone. I completed most of the levels just by following people around.
Really liked the graphics and the setting.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:47pm

Excellent game, I think it's probably the best I've played yet. The graphics were great, the gameplay was interesting and multi-faceted, and the skill level was just right. I think my only criticism are the snowflakes. If they were just a little smaller I think they would be perfect.

sauronz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:50pm

Nice atmosphere and cute graphics. I enjoyed playing it very much. Still needs to retouching but overall is quite neat :)

Fireblend says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:01pm

Awesome entry! I love that it's christmas themed, and I seriously like stealth games. Pretty polished as well.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:15pm

I love this! Very awesome mood and atmosphere. Going from outside to inside seriously feels like you're leaving the freezing darkness and entering a cozy space. Really good job, guys!

joyboxed says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:28pm

really liked the idea to steal presents and like the xmas mood ^^

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Nice! I like the theme and look of the game. Audio was somewhat minimalist but it worked.

Only real complaint is that the enemies seem twitchy and unpredictable. Someones when they do their patrol, they might randomly change direction when hitting a wall. That, plus the fact that being seen once instantly restarts the level, made the game a little frustrating.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:39pm

seems as though there's a bit of luck involved with getting past the patrols, especially when they are all in the same room

StMatn says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:14am

Wow, amazing work. I'm so jealous of all the features you managed to implement in that recordworth time. I really enjoyed it, besides it overshadows our entry so hard :( Really cool game. ;)

jsmars says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:31pm

Really well polished game! Reminds me of my game because of the style and sneaking :) Really nice graphic style and fun sneaking.

pfirsich says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:25pm

I have a few problems with alpha blending (everything that should be transparent is pink). Nonetheless the idea is very cool and it's fun!

Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:36pm

Wow impressive graphics, nice gameplay and story :D nice work!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:03pm

Found it quite fun and nicely done.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:26pm

Very nice! There's a bit too much luck for my tastes because the guys are somewhat unpredictable, but that's what makes it tense! The graphics are really really good.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:06pm

Concept is really cool. Graphics are great. Very challenging. Sound fx need some work. Movement outside was a bit slow, esp. when you had to go completely around the house. Difficulty ramped quickly.

awppy says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:56pm

It seems to be just about impossible to open doors without waking everyone nearby. It's also far too difficult to maneuver around sleeping people. Sound also doesn't seem to actually alert people, just wake them up.

It's a solid effort, but I didn't find it all that fun to play - it felt too luck based, and you couldn't do anything quietly.

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:30pm

Unfortunately the game crashes when I try to run it. I'll try again on another computer when I get the chance.

PaulSB says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:05am

Nice game! Looks great, fun to play, all important satisfying item pickup noise... I had a few little issues with it but this is a very good effort. Well done guys!

myachin says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:56am

cant run(

Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:38pm

Very nice game. Graphics, feel, difficulty, objective. All had a really bizzare freaky evil feeling of stealing stuff. I want more whining and crying though when the kids discover things missing... Anger! Hatred! it's what villians want to see!

lotusgame says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:39pm

I really enjoyed to steal presents. It's an excellent villain idea huhuhu :) Nice graphics, so moody !

galman says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:04pm

Amazing game! One of the bests so far :D
Great graphics, music, mood and most important, FUN!

OU GDA says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:57am

Fun concept for a stealth game. Although the snow has a nice effect, it makes it difficult to see and doesn't really help out the gameplay much. Maybe have them fade out when you enter a house.

Pitoum says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:51am

I didn't managed to really get the pattern of the patrol and if I can win without waking them up!
Great game!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:17am

Haha... cute. nice gameplay and graphics - though quite short.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:37pm

Damn, crashes when trying to run on XP (with DX9)

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:51am

Well, I haven't beaten it yet, but trust me, I will be, it's just that good! I found the experience all the more fulfilling when "You're a mean one..." is hummed whilst playing. =) Thoughts:

Good:
+It's like you said, "6 levels, dynamic lights, dynamic sound, super cool AI, pixel art and a christmas tree!" Quite the accomplishments!
+The whole thing is greatly polished with just the right amount of little details.

Bad:
-Perhaps it would be nice for the lights not to go through walls, along with the line of sight.
-The menu is a little less polished than the rest.
-I feel like the whole "shift to run" thing is a slight mistake. Perhaps "shift to slow down" is a better option.

In the end, 5/5, no doubt.

krutech says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:15am

@Puzzlem00n
I think you are correct with inverted funktionality on shift. Makes more sense really.

Thanks everyone for the nice comments.

And to you who responded on specific ingame issues. Thank you, these are simply things that we have to learn anf foresee next LD.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:27am

Very nice, except the sounds. They can be a bit disturbing (probably just a bit too loud).

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 12:17am

Muahahaha, I had a ton of fun stealing those gifts from the houses. The AI felt random but it meant that they were also unpredictable which worked really well when navigating those tight spaces.

Overall really great execution, pretty art, and a good use of the theme! :D

ddionisio says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:23am

Great mechanics, not too difficult, yet challenging. Lots of content for a short amount of time! The snow flakes were a bit excessive though. :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]