December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Voyage of the Obsolete Goat

by Quantumvm - Jam Entry

This game was made by thatSnail(mostly art):
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/thatsnail/

And yours truly Quantumvm (mostly code).

In this game you play as a ship called the Obsolete goat. Your objective is to maniacally pollute the waters of the adorable sea monster/death worm who slowly tries to kill you.

The game was tested under java 1.7 if it doesn't run you may need to update java.

-If you had a mac and it did not work, it should work now. The code was compiled in java 1.7 but macs are still in 1.6. The mac version is now in 1.5 JUST to make sure there is maximum compatibility. Sorry for the inconvenience cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#196Humor(Jam)2.37
#237Graphics(Jam)2.70
#249Audio(Jam)1.83
#258Innovation(Jam)2.41
#269Theme(Jam)2.59
#288Mood(Jam)2.10
#295Overall(Jam)2.38
#308Fun(Jam)1.93

Comments

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:20am

Nice game, I have nothing to complain about... so congratulations! :)

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:40am

Couldn't get it to launch on mac osx... :-(

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:42am

Unfortunately found this game really difficult to play. The monster popped up right from under the ship almost every time and drained my health way too fast. Additionally the controlled were incredibly difficult to use (especially for someone left-handed).

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:42am

Nice! I think that the controls were a little too slow, and it could have used some custom text in the intro/end screen. Good job though!

Wuhao says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:04am

can't play on mac

Quantumvm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:15am

To all my mac gurus out there, sorry if it wasn't working for you. I forgot that you guys are in 1.6 and not 1.7 of the java run time environment. I recompiled it in java 1.5 and had a friend test it. Link should work now. Cheers!

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:25am

I really liked the game concept when I read the description, I was thinking a "You are the villain" type game from the perspective of death worm games was creative. However, it wasn't carried out very well. Sound and graphics were decent, but the gameplay was far too random, difficult, and uncontrollable. Nice job, though, we're here to learn after all!

OU GDA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:29am

i like the alternate victory conditions. it would be nice if there was a way to know where the monster pops up, or a reason to not just hold down space constantly

gerafin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:56am

It seemed to crash every time I tried to fire an explosion. Running Linux with up-to-date java. Other than that - a mechanic like 'dumping toxic waste,' where there is no point to NOT be dumping toxic waste, shouldn't be a mechanic :) still a good entry.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:33am

I died plenty and didn't really see what the toxic waste did even though I was dumping non stop. Having a single hit when the monster strikes would be better I think, with some invulnerability time afterwards. Now it can kill me in one lucky dive.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:50am

Need more visible pollution. I would have the water changing colour as it was polluted. Worm damage was too sporadic and movement too slow to effectively dodge. Perhaps have some bubbles or something appear where the monster is going to appear so player has time to react. Didn't appear to be a way of re-starting game without quitting and restarting.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:22am

Nice little game, seem much easier just to blast the monster though. There seems to be no reason to manually dump pollution, might as well be automatic. Good animation and the art works out well!

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:48am

I like the idea here, but as others have said, the monster seems a bit random and kills me a little too easily. Perhaps making it visible underwater and increasing the ship's move speed, or giving a way to fight back (fire a gun that produces more toxic waste that you have to get rid of?) would help with that. But this is a great start, and it worked fine for me.

By the way, if you're looking for a better host than dropbox, you might check out the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. Either way, nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]