December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Cylinder

by Harsay - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mr. Cylinder - one of my first games ever made. Game is unfinished cause the size of idea and not having good game programming skills (7 hours and still very buggy collisions) but I've learned many things by that.

Story is about Mr. Cylinder - a game programmer. His girlfriend leaves him and goes to man called Lord. Cylinder thinks that Lord is Villain which kidnapped Derpina - Cylinders girlfriend. He goes to Lords house (with axe), destroys the door and kills bodyguards to save Derpina. But he don't know who really is a villain.

Wanted to make this funny story with voice acting but that was too much to make this in 48 hours for me.

You can play the unfinished windows version (its very short).

controls:
arrows - moving
space - attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#257Graphics3.21
#588Mood2.33
#611Theme2.57
#690Fun2.00
#759Innovation1.54
#763Overall1.86
#990Coolness28%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:57pm

It's a shame it is so unfinished, the idea at least has potential (although sounds like a riff on the ending of Braid :P)
Art is nice, at least. Game didn't let me inside the castle. Which I think it was meant to.

dom2d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Was fun to break the door though!

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:18am

Nice pixels I wished there were some animation :) good luck on finishing it :)

TheSheep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:40pm

Does not work on Linux. -- Makdaam

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:11pm

Too bad it was unfinished. I like the art style, wish there was animation. Breaking the door down was fun.

h.attila says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:14am

Too bad it's unfinished, the graphics are really nice.

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:12pm

Ok, at least you got a start. Next time you'll get way further :-)

aare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:45pm

Good luck next time. I hope you won't stop on this game and next time finish a project :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:48am

What a shame you didn't finish it! Anyway I like graphics a lot. :)

MortalWombat says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Hey! That's a good start, you should build on that! :)

One tip regarding the pixel graphics:
You should really stick to one size of pixels (Mr. Cylinder in this case has much bigger pixels than his surroundings) to achieve a more coherent look.
At least that's how I feel about it.

Keep making games!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]