December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Villain - Christmas will not be

by Remblej - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#221Audio2.88
#356Humor2.56
#420Theme3.10
#436Fun2.70
#584Overall2.60
#597Graphics2.29
#639Mood2.21
#709Innovation2.00

Comments

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:33am

I got this error when trying to run it on a mac: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/2963538/RemblegError.txt

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:40am

A bit of a simple game, quite short, but not all that bad.

- I really liked how you could pocket your bow to run faster. Nice touch!
- I expected the arrows to curve somehow. I understand how they don't, but it would've been nice.
- It was quite easy, I just kept sticking santa with arrows and he died before I did.
- Some other reaction, except for the bar getting less, would've been nice when hitting or being hit.

Consider making it longer and more varied, perhaps with more weapons.

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:43am

Hmm, like Jezzamon, I couldn't get it to run on OS X, either ... I couldn't find a stack trace, but it's probably the same problem.

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:58pm

Running on Mac OS X :

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: EpicEngine : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:631)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:615)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:05pm

It was a nice game. I wasn't particularly fond of how the bow worked, but it was manageable. Fairly easy to beat as well -- maybe add some sort of challenge other than the elfkilling/santakilling?

Remblej says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:22am

I'm sorry, I didn't tested game at MAC

jerrre says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:28am

Maybe you can compile it to Java 6

gameXcore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:43am

I really liked the putting the box away to move faster.

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:53pm

Good idea about the bow slowing you down while aiming ;) fun little game.

markengley says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:53pm

Afraid I couldn't run. I have java installed.
---------------------------
Java Virtual Machine Launcher
---------------------------
Could not find the main class: EpicEngine. Program will exit.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

Remblej says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:19pm

markengley:
what OS ?

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Can't play windows/linux games. :-(

caranha says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:44pm

Got this error:

Could not find the main class: EpicEngine. Program will exit.

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:22pm

Nice game! Good sounds and music. Gameplay could be improved a little. Some feedback when an enemy hits you would have been nice. Also, I think a command to take out the bow is not necessary, the bow should be activated by default. I loved the final boss :)

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:31pm

"Could not find main class: EpicEngine." :(

Remblej says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:07am

@up:
Y have got old Java

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]