December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Break In

by filtoid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game you play someone with a nasty penchant for building an army of goats with lasers. However the plans for the goat laser experiment are stolen and taken to the "Top Secret HQ". You must break in and steal the plans back. Be careful though as someone may have enacted the plans and there may be some goat guards waiting for you.

Game is written in HTML5 and Javascript exclusively. Should be able to run straight from the desktop. Unfortunately you will need to have an internet connection at launch because it relies on JQuery from the Google reps.

Please enjoy the game and let me know what you think. It's not finished but it should be both playable and winnable too :) filtoid

Source Code with Revision History (SVN repo) is available from: https://subversion.assembla.com/svn/filtdoid-ludum-dare-25/

If you have any problems getting hold of this then please let me know.

------------------------------------------------------------
UPDATE 10:58 18/12/12 - I've uploaded a version with a couple of bug fixes ->
player.js - ln 276 - Added a fix for the bug where if you die the picks don't respawn - it was because the player never dropped them
StartRoomTriggers.js - ln 12 & 24 - When opening the lift door it was possible that one would open on top of the player and the player would then become stuck
------------------------------------------------------------
From reading the rules on the front page these bug fixes are allowed - if not then let me know and I will revert.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#265Audio2.71
#413Humor2.36
#518Fun2.52
#530Graphics2.52
#536Overall2.69
#594Mood2.32
#627Innovation2.29
#638Theme2.48
#711Coolness47%

Comments

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:36am

Can't run.
Why? No link.

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:50pm

Yeah - that's weird - i def filled those boxes in - well you can find the game at http://www.philjeffes.co.uk/ld25/g - will try and fix that. Sorry :s

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:50pm

Ok Fixed now

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:58pm

you got me with "army of goats with lasers" ;) I loved the "pew pew" at the end. Overall this game really lived by its compelling storyline.

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:02pm

For me, It wasn't clear what to do in the first level. I try to walk on the stairs and get into the HQ and hit the boxes but nothing happened and it took a long time.

nitramgc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:02pm

That goat surprised me the first time see saw me. I expected a dash on me or something :)

TheSheep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:20pm

Breaking all the crates every time is very boring, especially when after I died there was no more a keycard, so I was stuck.

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:40pm

Nice little game. For some weird reason the screen kept jumping around on me which was a little disorientating (web version on Chrome).

nolacoaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:09pm

I really like the gameplay! Didn't get the theme though...

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:14pm

Scrolling behavior was rather odd but: storyline, lasers, spoken psggchh sounds are good. I needed neither a keycard nor the elevator, likely random?

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:15pm

just finished the game and i feel little bored
i dont that kind of moving player - i dont feel you need turing around instead of just moving left or right
but overall its a nice piece of game :)

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:22pm

@timtipgames - thanks, sadly didn't have much time to record quality sound effects.
@jerre - sadly not enough time to add the room at the bottom of the stairs either
@nitramgc - i tried to write rush code into the ai but they kept running away through walls :s
@TheSheep - ah sorry about that - i think actually you didn't drop it when you died and so still had it - it was a bug i found after submission sadly.
@chrismwaite - sorry about that - was it scrollbars appearing/disappearing?

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:26pm

@nolacoaster - thanks - i agree i'd have liked to add more villany
@zenmumbler - could you expand on odd please? Did you expect it to scroll differently - like having the playing in the middle always? I'd be interested to know - the idea was to present several different ways of completing the game (Bit off more than I could chew with the design i think) :)
@JacksGameSucks - Sorry to hear that you were bored by the end - do you feel that the pacing was ruined by needing to turn rather than just go in that direction?

Thanks all for you comments - i'm seeking to improve the way I make games so i'm always happy for constructive feedback. :)

char68 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:48pm

I really enjoyed the sound effects, particularly when I set us up the bomb :) I'm not sure if there was a keycard to find though? Once I planted the explosives it seemed like the explosion effect was repeatedly playing and I couldn't do anything else.

filtoid says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:52am

@char68 - it was a last minute dash to the end - I would have liked to have an escape sequence with more goats and then the finish be a nice graphic but sadly - outta time. :(

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:14pm

Really nice stealth puzzler! :)

Per says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:25pm

I won!
Nice little sneaker.
A little harsh to start from the beginning when hit by a goat :)

davidwparker says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:57pm

Why did I die? I punched the rat/goat thing at it still laser'd me :(
Controls were a little weird for me (the turning).
Other than that, nice game.

sletari says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Nice music!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]