December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Accursed Moon

by barkergames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

When someone turns into a werewolf during a full moon they have no control over what their werewolf form does.
But now you can!
You play as the werewolf during a full moon.

Have fun!

Visit www.BarkerGames.com for more!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#143Theme3.72
#170Mood3.19
#263Audio2.72
#276Overall3.15
#356Graphics2.97
#364Innovation2.87
#417Fun2.74
#446Humor2.27

Comments

Saisaith says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:11am

Nice work!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:29am

Nice and solid. I like the natural idea of scaling by people arming themselves in response to rampages.

surpy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:32am

It's fun, but kinda hard. I like the idea though.

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:16pm

This is really good - I like it. Once they start getting armed it becomes very difficult but still enjoyed it.

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:38am

Very difficult once they start arming themselves. Could be neat with some more work!

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:15am

Nice job, I think the controls could be better, but other then that, it was nice.

awppy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:19am

It's pretty fun, but enemies can shoot through walls, which can be irritating once the hunters start showing up. It can be tough to tell who is armed and who isn't until you're close, but the progression is pretty good

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:23am

I do agree the controls are a bit difficult to work with, though I will admit I have trouble getting controls to work well myself.

Freakill says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:11am

It is a nice game and a really good base to improve it (if you wanted :P). I like the game mechanics, simple but direct. Maybe it would have been nice to add more wolf animation when walking, or hide inside houses with a ceiling, and just when you enter uncover them. But these are just ideas :). It gets hard when inhabitants shoot arrows, nearly impossible to avoid :S

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:31pm

Great game but i didnt really get how to dodge the arrows

tcho_i_er says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:03pm

It doesn't run on my computer, i don't understand why :(

raubana says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:00am

It crashed before even starting.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:04am

I like the idea :DD !!! i like the wolf sounds too xD... nice game man! :D

Toadpud says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:56am

The first night is a little easy, I felt like the people should have run away or something. After that it becomes more challenging. Good entry.

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:02am

Pretty good graphics. The game quickly gets hard after the first stage.
I think the wolf could've used some walking animations.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:56pm

Sorry, I can't play this. If you have time, please recompile using the XNA "reach" profile so it can run on pre-DX11 cards.

barkergames says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:15am

Sorry about that, it's been updated using the "reach" profile.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:59am

That was really cool.

Got pretty much instantly killed by an archer though.

What I think would be really awesome is if you turned back into a human, had another 100 seconds where guys investigated, and if they found you in some dead person's house they'd try and kill you, until you turned back into a wolf and tried to maul them etc.

But yeah, for 48 hours this was really cool. The turning motion was really fluid, idea was solid. Nice one.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:30pm

Nice playable game. A bit more environment interaction would have been nice.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:38pm

Liked the difficulty increase as days increase. Needs wandering peasants as peasants stuck in corners is kind of boring.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Hm, this is odd, I walked through 2 levels and there is no one else beside me. I made a sweep of the whole map and there are no NPCs..

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]