December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Prison Escape

by Tyren - Jam Entry

Official Walkthrough: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WnmgcEGvRfM

Story:
You have been found guilty of destroying an entire planet. They have locked you in a maximum
security prison deep in space. The day before your scheduled execution, you receive a cake
from an unknown "friend". As you mutter that the cake really isn't a lie, you bite into something
and drop the cake.

A red key card falls out of the cake and you realize this is the key to your door. If you
are ever going to survive, you must escape now. However, the high tech security system detects
the key and goes into lock down. The artificial gravity is immediately disabled and you now
have 60 seconds before all of the air is pumped from each floor. You must descend the tower
and reach the exit!


Controls:
-In Menu
- UP/DOWN to move the selection up and down
- ENTER to select an option
-In Game
- SPACE to grab a wall
- Release SPACE to push off toward the mouse cursor
- Once you have the jetpack, the left mouse button is thrust
- ESCAPE to pause the game.


Tips:
- Use the SPACE bar a lot to grab walls and control your flight.
- Be sure to aim straight down hallways and thrust constantly to gain lots of speed.
- You can bounce off the back wall and thrust the opposite direction to turn around quickly.


Requirements:
- Windows Only
- Requires XNA 4.0 available at: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914
- Resolution of 800x600 or higher


Engines Used:
- Farseer Physics

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#86Innovation(Jam)3.26
#150Fun(Jam)2.90
#203Audio(Jam)2.46
#233Overall(Jam)2.74
#264Mood(Jam)2.36
#270Humor(Jam)1.86
#282Theme(Jam)2.45
#310Graphics(Jam)1.97

Comments

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:04am

Fun. but really hard game. Didn't get too far.

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:05am

Fun idea, wish there wasn't a time limit, and the user was just being tested on his abilities instead of speed.

Tyren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:10am

dalbinblue, all of the levels can be completed, most with more than 5 seconds remaining. There is a "skill" that you need to gain with bouncing off walls and grabbing at the right time. Thanks for the feedback!

nathanj439 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:11am

Lots of fun. A continue system would be nice to avoid having to replay the first few levels over and over.

Tyren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:12am

There are only 4 levels, we figured we'd put a retry if we added more levels. As it is now, the game is < 4 minutes long! :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:17am

Neat idea, felt like an actual version of Breakout. Wish there wasn't a time limit though and maybe a couple more gimmicks added.

master4523 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:26am

I had a lot of fun playing that game, the idea of grabbing walls and using a jetpack (the first time I've played it I thought he was actually farting :| ) in order to complete the levels. The only downside is there's only 4 levels. Besides that, good job on making that game!

Tyren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:29am

Thanks Master! Yeah, we had a huge list of things that got cut to make the game more deep. But, this is one of those games where you need to get proficient at grabbing the walls at the right time and using the jetpack to fly on straight stretches. Thanks for the great comments!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:10am

Can't play windows games :-(

Tyren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:16am

Sorry Rex... maybe the next time I'll try something cross platform.

Toadpud says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:16am

Considering the insane difficulty I really wish you could just restart from the last level instead of replaying the game from the start every time. Not bad though.

Tyren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:08am

Doh! Sorry guys. I guess I'm learning that when you make a game, you get really good at it. I designed the levels to be tough. Just practice a lot using the jetpack and grabbing the walls to control yourself. :(

psychopsam says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:27am

I really like the free floating feel as if I was in zero G. However it would have been nice to show the guy leaping with arms out to add a little polish. I really enjoyed it, but I couldn't even finish level 2. The air running out made it very tense - nice work.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:31am

Just wanted to update to review audio. Sounds are adequate bleep and bips. Music is really nice. Very atmosphereic. I tried again and got to level 3.

Tyren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:38am

psychopsam - Thanks for the feedback. My co-dev did all of the audio work (and spent a good amount of time on music), I'll be sure he sees this comment. Yeah, level 3 is a bit tough. You need to try to shoot straight up those thin paths to get the jetpack quickly. Then try to get out. Once you do that, make straight shots down to the keys at full speed. Bounce off the back wall and shoot back up the path. I'm going to have my son record a "fly through" tomorrow.

Udrian says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:22am

Fun game with a fun use of solving puzzles in zero gravity!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:54am

Originally I bounced in the wrong directions, assuming since I was pushing off, my arms would need to face opposite my desired direction of travel. After I understood how it worked, it was quite challenging and fun.

vrav says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:00am

Nice challenge, lost on the second-to-last level and had to play through again, was relieved the final level wasn't as nerve-wracking. Cool concept, escaping prison while bound in zero-g.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:55am

Yeah, fun but hard.

Tyren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:03am

Okay, an official walkthrough has been created and posted to youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WnmgcEGvRfM

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:11am

Pretty good mechanic you have going here, but this mechanic alone kinda makes the game feel a little bland, though the time restriction helps. It was also a little difficult getting the angle right. (I haven't beaten lvl 2 yet) I think in the future you should add a continue setting, and make it so the player slowly move towards the mouse. Not only would this make it less difficult but it's actually more realistic for zero gravity. I like the title/play music, but I felt the pause music was displaced.

~AlucardX60

goulding57 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:18am

Could not play (Not running windows:( sounds fun and hard from the comments though)

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:01am

interesting mechanics. i'm not sure if i understand the reasoning behind them in the context of a game about a prison escapse, but interesting nonetheless.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:33pm

Nice game. Pretty tricky. Interesting that it was rarely worth grabbing the jetpack.

Tyren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:24pm

HeyCinaski!? Were you able to beat the levels 2, 3, and 4 without a jetpack? Level 1 doesn't "need it". It was more to give you some time to practice using it. I can't imagine the other levels are possible without the jetpack however.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:53pm

Sorry, can't play this. If you can, please make a version using the "Reach" profile to support DX9 cards.

Tyren says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:46pm

Updated link to use reach profile. No DX10/11 features were used.

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:14pm

Unfortunately i couldn't play it as i'm on a mac. But i watched the walkthrough and it looks like an interesting idea with solid core mechanics that, with a little work, could turn out as to be an awesome game! Great work!

Beerman says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:29pm

Damn, that's hard. Fun though. Like a few people have said, a continue would have been good. Gets a bit frustrating being kicked back to the start every time you screw up a level.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:03am

Blimey, gravity based movement is always hard. Like someone else I first got confused and faced toward the wall given the wording "push off" from the wall.

Levels 1 and 2 can be quite handily beaten without the thruster, but the in 3 it actually gets in the way if used incorrectly. I like that you showed restraint and not added spikes all over the place like some other "hard" games. Hard but not too hard and mercifully short given the single life.

Good music, home made?

Tyren says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:17am

Yup, the music was homemade by my development partner. He did a great job with it, I agree! Awesome feedback zenmumbler.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:03pm

Interesting concept, but too hard :)

ramoncb says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:12pm

too hard xD
but pretty fun too! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]