December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Notlock the Villan (Ludum Dare 25 Singpolyma)

by singpolyma - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow keys to move, or click the edges of the screen.

For some reason the windows version causes certain anti-virus softwares to run a check, but once you tell them that it is ok it runs fine.

The windows version comes with many pre-built DLLs for SDL and related libraries. The Ubuntu version assumes you have these installed already (instructions on installing them in the README).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#548Audio1.60
#563Theme2.73
#614Innovation2.32
#644Overall2.43
#679Humor1.56
#689Mood2.00
#690Fun2.00
#743Graphics1.65
#817Coolness42%

Comments

TheChemist says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:26am

This is really fun little inversion of "hunt the bad guy". Took about 10min to beat it but it was a good kick getting there.

Logun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:26am

I dunno exactly why, but I love that game ! :)

metadept says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:17pm

Wasn't quite clear what the objective is (took some trial and error) and the behavior of the enemies was a bit frustrating to predict. I think it would add a lot if there were more trees and they obscured vision, and if enemies moved in discernible patterns. Hope you spend some more time on this, it's definitely got potential!

Cell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:04pm

My eyes hurts a bit from the contrast of the graphics, but the rest was pretty good :)

Verrazano says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:43pm

It was a pretty good game, but I think if you had decided to make the game without the tile based system and just used a large maybe even still repeated scrolling background it would have felt better. Though I still enjoyed it - I really didn't like the non changing landscape I guess except the trees. my score was about 200 :P

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:28pm

Found it difficult to track the movement of the player. A bit sticky too; some smooth movement and I may take another look

Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:16pm

I would have preferred smooth movement and predictable enemies, I got frustrated fast :(

PaulSB says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:51pm

Hmm ok well I managed to run away from goat-riders for a while, certainly had a sense of hopelessness to proceedings.

ceronman says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:29am

Interesting. It's really hard to evade enemies.

singpolyma says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 4:46pm

@DeathBySnail @lucas-b.eyer.be What do you guys mean by "smooth movement"? Non-tile-based movement?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]