Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

YOU are the villain - Husky - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I like the theme!
The first time I saw it in the voting list,
I decided that if it will be the theme, I would make it a horror game, like "Eternal Darkness".
...then things are all out of control lol.

Spending lot of time on know how to work correctly with the libraries and tools.

This is my first time to use PhotoShop. LuaAlchemy. and DAME.

Pixel art is fun, I will practice to make it better!
(sorry for the missing color of some animations...)

Lua is cool, changing things without relaunch the game is awesome.

Sorry I didn't make the game really horror, it's lack of detail, didn't have the time to add all the events in my notebook :p

I learned a lot from the two days.

Thanks for the activity, and thanks for your playing!

----------------------------------------------------------
Hints:
1. The game need mouse input.
2. Try interacting items more times, that's where my time spending most :)

*I have fixed the annoying "W" in post-combo version*

View Husky's journal. | View all entries by Husky

Ratings

Coolness100%
#89Mood3.40
#252Innovation3.11
#254Theme3.45
#310Overall3.09
#345Audio2.48
#427Humor2.32
#433Fun2.71
#550Graphics2.43

Comments

mkpictures says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:11pm

Great game, I liked it :) Good job !

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:19pm

Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but your game doesn't seem to be working.

Web: After pressing W, it shows a guy, a corpse and a door. if you press A or D, you hear a sound. I've tried facerolling and clicking everywhere, but nothing beside those two buttons seem to work.

Windows: After pressing W, you simply get a black screen.

Husky says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:01pm

Oops, it's working fine here...
Did ur mouse click out of game screen?
Darn...I shouldn't remove the DEACTIVATE event...

Or maybe it's an error caused when I was trying porting to web?

Thanks for your feedback! :p

caasi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:41pm

Unreliable narrator!
I like your idea but I don't like QTE that much.
Will read your code later :p

Husky says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:50pm

Thanks,
But the code is messy...@@

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57pm

Even though the game is not very horror-looking, the mood is really nice. When playing I can't stop thinking what happened. :)

But the clues in game can be arranged in a more meaningful way though, I guess.

Husky says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:08pm

Thanks!
I do want to make more details and hints, but that need lots of time...
The next time I will make more detail and point. :)

lekochen says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:43pm

Good atmosphere here, well done!

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Excellent psychic horror game!!!

Lidfrid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:09pm

Well done on this! Sometimes is very difficult to read the dialogues because they are over the sentence "Press W"

:)

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:53am

Awesome!Good atmosphere.
The QTE is so cool!

Komradus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:15am

Really trippy experience and I'm not sure if I got lost half way through it with those endless corridors.

kewry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:16am

Awesome game!

Yacodo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:26am

A little slow but Good job.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:12am

Thanks guys :)
I should spend more time on the details, many friends have tell me about the annoying "W" thing...:s

Rob says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:50pm

Difficult to say on this one, I liked what you were trying todo but it all seemed too chaotic and perhaps without purpose

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:16pm

Haha, this was great. Played it to the end. You have a very active imagination - crazy, but fun! Did the QTE make any difference? I'm sure I was failing at most of them.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:50pm

@Rob
Thanks, and sorry to confuse you, didn't set enough clues and hints...

@daredevildave
Thanks you! :)
Well, yes...in principle, if you fail the QTE, it should change to gameover and restart from the startpoint...but I didn't finish this...so you well recover all the HP and...that's all...*sigh*

Sorry to confusing you, guys.

atrodo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:11pm

I enjoyed this a lot, even if it was a little disturbing. Good job.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:37pm

Thank you! :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:51pm

I like this game. Cheers!

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:58pm

Nice overall concept and a clever use of the mouse for quick time events.

ilo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:11pm

Nice idea and mood, but the text was a bit messy in its presentation. It seemed to go too fast in places and was occasionally obscured by the health bar or went off the edge of the screen.

Husky says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:42am

@shaneshanekavanagh
Thank you! Cheers! :)

@HeyChinaski
Thanks!

@ilo
Yes, the annoying "W" an UI...
But I don't know if I can fix it now.
I am afriad of breaking the rule...

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:14am

Good job on making a game with mood and story telling. I really enjoyed it despite some technical problems with dialog showing up multiple times or partly off screen.

boxerbomb says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:14pm

You might want to try a new web server norton says there are 2 viruses detected. I know that isnt correct but just saying.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:56pm

I like the fighting mechanic. The dialogue was a bit finicky at times.

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:55pm

Great game. I find it awesome having time during LD48 for not only creating a game... but also a compeling story!! Well done!

Husky says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:00am

@Scott McBee
Thank you! It really have some problems need to be fixed...

@boxerbomb
Thanks for your notification, I changed the post-combo on NewGrounds now, hope it's all right now...

@CireNeikual
Thanks you!

@Luis Anton
Wow, thank you so much! :)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:41pm

Doesn't run for me, says that I don't have Flash installed even though I do.

Zener says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:54pm

Great game, very intriging.

Floko says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:06am

the text was a bit hard to read,but the QTE were nice =]

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:07pm

I didn't get it at all :/ Nice mood though!

illugion says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:01am

Cool game, i liked the qte, it gives a nice challenge to the game

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:28pm

I like how you lose color when your health is low.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:32pm

I like the concept. The w key notify would interfere with the results often times, would be nice if it went away when I was already examining. Liked the transition to madness. Not sure at the end what was really going on.

namuol says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:54am

I love games that really play off my expectations.

Not sure how I feel about fighting off PTSD with QTE's, but the flow of the narrative was ... interesting. Nice job.

har_g says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:57pm

Crazy :)

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:35pm

Very good game actually!

Joseph Miller says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 8:31am

The mouse mechanics as the core gameplay was really great. I think they were really evocative and helped set the mood for the game. The polish was very low, but I think the vision surpasses the so-so implementation and still leaves me feeling like this was a very impressive gaming experience.

Husky says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:49am

Thank you guys!
And Thanks for the feedback, I will try making a better game next time :)

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:47am

I liked your game, and it's cool that you got it made in only 2 days. I think it definitely needs some extra work done, because for a thriller polish is really highly important. I think there are many great ideas here, but perhaps you were too ambitious, and it's hard to make them all shine in only 48 hours.

Still, great job, and I'd love to play a post-compo version of this.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]