December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

G.O.A.T.

by ChainedLupine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Okay, real description this time.

You are evil. Drop the anvils on the widdle innocent goats. The end.

Move by pressing LEFT and RIGHT, and drop an anvil with SPACEBAR. That's all there is to it.

This game was actually a much more advanced concept involving police, super heroes, and an army attempting to storm your evil person stronghold, but I didn't have the time to implement all of that.

So I recycled the sprites I doodled up on Friday night, plus the logo for your evil organization as the title screen, and shoved this steaming pile out fresh just for you in three hours! Aren't you lucky!

G.O.A.T. stands for Goal Of Absolute Terror, BTW.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#37Humor3.73
#40Fun3.71
#78Theme3.88
#137Overall3.43
#148Mood3.22
#188Graphics3.44
#245Audio2.78
#495Innovation2.59

Comments

Markavian says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:54am

Strangely addictive... :]

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:09am

Truly, you are a villain in this game :)

Amadeus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:28am

Great job! I love how the goats explode when the anvil hits them, it just feels good.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:37am

LOL! You sir are evil and villainous to the core! Good Job :)

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:09am

Amazing for 3 hours.

Fireblend says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:45am

Well, it's the most appropriate use of the theme I've seen so far, and it's strangely addicting, like it makes me realize how much I've hated goats my entire life and only now I know it. Or something. Great game!

FireSlash says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:47am

WHY AM I STILL PLAYING THIS OH GOD WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME

joyboxed says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:36am

cant tell why but I just love it, its addictive, its fun and it just feals good to kill goats =D

aneeslol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:38am

I think I had too much fun with this...the sounds, graphics, etc. are SO satisfying.

RylandAlmanza says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:10am

Droppin' anvils on goats all day err day. :D

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:49am

Haha. I played for a LOT longer than I expected. I also love that you make me work to get my next anvil ... really makes me think twice before dropping each one.

Also, nice logo! (Reminds me of the Airwolf logo ... ahh, my childhood)

feili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:16pm

The title screen goat has the right expression

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:44pm

Very nice! I like the sound design and the c-c-c-combo titles a lot :)

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:19pm

Addicting and evil!

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:58pm

Nice! I kept playing until I got a score of 5000, trying to get 4 goats with one anvil. Didn't succeed, but had fun! Thanks.

crashbanito says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:19am

Your game is brutally simple, but I just can't stop playing. For so little game, crushing goats gives me so much joy.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:31am

I love it!

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:51am

Wow, this game. So fun :D

sauronz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:36pm

True villainy in this game! I really like it! Also like the soundfx ^-^ Great and enjoyable game!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:44pm

OK. I just dropped anvils on goats for like 6 minutes. I agree with the first comment. VERY STRANGELY ADDICTIVE. I could do this all day but I won't. Because that would make me a very scary person. GREAT WORK FOR 3 HOURS!

krutech says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:56pm

This is great, nice gfx and the challange in getting big combos is fun!

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:40am

This was pretty decently entertaining, especially for a game made in three hours.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:19am

The sounds and visuals fit so well together it feels deviously delicious whenever those anvils crush the unsuspecting goats below. So much fun!

I'm sure you've got a ton of ideas bouncing around for how to make this a fully-featured experience: Adding a goal, danger, time limit, etc. So yes, please do! I'd love to see this game get fleshed out :D

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:01am

Fun and addictive! But uncompleted =(
Good work!

Floko says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:35pm

It`s pretty and fun but there`s no challenge! =(

AumaanSnake says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:20pm

Addicting game, good work!!

Fififox says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:16pm

Fun game, too bad you didn't have more time to make it have proper goals... :)

cardboard says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 4:57am

The particle effects after each goatmurder made me feel like an even worse person than the one I was for killing innocent goats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]