December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Minion's Defense

by Scott McBee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Build a town and defend it from the knight that's come to clear you out.

Remember to use walls to defend your huts!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#266Graphics3.18
#319Fun2.92
#321Innovation2.95
#347Humor2.59
#403Overall2.91
#409Mood2.70
#585Audio1.33
#629Theme2.51

Comments

rylgh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:30am

awesome idea. super cute little dudes. that knight has a tonnn of health!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:36am

Seems a little buggy. After the knight destroyed my tower he didn't progress. And some of the little guys got stuck around his head. I like the idea, I think you could expand on this and make a solid game. Also, it didn't really seem like you were the villain in this. Good effort, and I liked your graphics.

ElScootro says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44am

Nice job! I didn't feel like a villain playing, but had fun experimenting with placing structures!

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:48am

Pro: The meatball minions are very amusing
Con: Needs more things to do...

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:49am

Didn't really get the theme from this.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:51am

pretty cool game, it would be nice if the minions had a tiny bit more power or knight had a little less!

Wuhao says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:18am

you need atleast 1 hut? can't proceed afterwards

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:53am

I won! At first I couldn't figure out the controls for the knight and then remembered the theme! The trick is to get behind him.

scriptblocks says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:49am

Lots of fun

karlin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:05am

Interesting idea, lovely graphics. Would be great if there were more building types.

surpy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:06am

I really like the idea of this. I thought it was a lot of fun. I would like to do more than 1 level, if you decide to pick this up in the future, add more buildings? Different types of attackers?

vrav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:44am

I like it! Tickling a giant knight with your tiny sword. It's so amusing.

Hapistorique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:07am

Not bad :)

munchor says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:50am

Too hard IMHO, I couldn't kill the knight once.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:04am

Did the meatballs build their huts on the knight's garden or what makes them villains?

The idea is ok but the game is really lacking.

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:06am

I really enjoyed fighting alongside a mob of AIs. It wasn't clear how it relates to the theme, but it was definitely a lot of fun! :)

Drabiter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:24am

If only you give one more $ so I could have another wall :D pretty nice.

Trivia: what was the sprite editor you used?

orunbot says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:39am

Love it. If i timed it correctly I could make the knight swing for my meatball instead of the building and by myself some more time.

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:12pm

The knight is really great! The game makes me think about the crusader. :)

pythong says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:37pm

Walls? I just hacked the knight until he died. Timing the point when he's about to attack and jump over him...

anyway, nice effect when dying. I didn't get why I should build walls when I just had built three houses next to each other. Sounds would have been nice, and also the bounding box of the knight seemed a bit off

Husky says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:52pm

This is fun!!
Short but good!

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:05pm

Neat - too bad my minions get stuck on my own walls. They should have some maximum life span so they respawn if stuck.

Manest says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:14pm

nice idea, but realy repetitive.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:44pm

Pretty fun and cute! Knight seems to have a fair bit of health though, makes it hard to beat him in close situations.

RosyPenguin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:00pm

CUTE MEATBALLS SCOTT!

I beat the knight on my third try; I liked stategizing the placement of huts/fences. Great job!

Frib says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:14pm

A bit grindy but I love the fact that you play as one of the many disposable meatballs :D

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:52pm

Honestly, I'm trying my best to find something good about this. The gameplay consists only of tapping a button, hacking and slashing at an enemy that could as well be invincible. There seems to be no action, no strategy, nothing to keep you going. There's seeds of AI and tower defense mechanics, but they haven't been developed far enough to be useful.

And what particularly strikes me as lazy is the game's complete disconnection from the theme. It doesn't help the impression that the author didn't give a damn.

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:10pm

I really liked to look of the game and to objective of the game is clear! The knight has a ton of health though! Can't see a connection to the theme other than that knights some times are good? Other than that, good job!

sclark39 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:16pm

Interesting. The knight seemed incredibly strong, and I didn't have a lot to do.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:51pm

I enjoyed this - I especially liked that you both were the builder of the village and then could play the people :-)

cardboard says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:54pm

Very nice! First time the knight killed me, but then I just built towers to get behind him and attack him. Very fun to beat.

char68 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:16pm

Really liked the graphics in this game, although I'm wishing there was some audio (even just for the hits). The controls of the little meatguys were really awesome, I loved the way they jump. I'm just not sure if I feel like the little meatguys are the villains. Sure, they're not knights in shining armor, but that knight kinda seems like a bully in this setting :]

Tapestry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:13am

I liked the art, specifically those little meatball dudes. Their attack animation is really funny.

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:40am

Finally killed that knight. He has a lot of health.

I like the little jumpy platformer critters.

N/A for audio, as it looks like it either didn't work or you had none.

michax says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:34am

Had fun with it. Knight is a little to strong :) And i would love to know how to build at later stage of the game. Either way nice idea end execution!

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:53pm

Cute little meat minions. Could use some sound.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]