December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Eurydice

by AnnaGavaldaKedavra - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What happened to Eurydice after Orpheus looked back at her?

How could he have saved her?

And how can you win the game?


ZQSD to move

It's my first game ever, i wanted 30 more screens but not enough time. Same for the sound.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#426Mood2.67
#497Graphics2.62
#548Innovation2.47
#592Audio1.29
#669Humor1.60
#714Theme2.09
#728Overall2.15
#759Fun1.62

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:08am

go LEFT : Q
go RIGHT : D
JUMP : Z
FINISH : ESCAPE

Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:09am

ESCAPE TO SUICIDE

dek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:01pm

Scary :D

lucasncv says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:26pm

Nice backgrounds! The game's a bit too artsy for my taste :P

pythong says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:29pm

I have no idea what I did, until I came into the endless corridor and killed myself :?? very strange game oO

But as a hint: why not arrow keys? But the BGRs looked nice

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:44pm

No arrow keys cause i spilled coffee on it...

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:00pm

What the hell did I just play?
Mood, YUP. Innovation? Yup? Graphics: YUUUP!
Overall YEAH. But... erm... what? I did not get it but it was kinda cool. But.. please explain what it is supposed to do/mean/win....

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:25pm

It's the interactive story of Orpheus and Eurydice.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orpheus

At first you are Orpheus, followed by Eurydice to get out of hell.

If you look back, as in the legend, Eurydice disapear.
It means you, the player, is responsible for it by interact with the game (also it explain why that STUPID STUPID Orpheus looked back).


Then You play Eurydice.

You can save Eurydice. BUT you can also win the game.

Hazel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18pm

I didn't really get this at first but after playing another few times I really like it. Very original idea.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:28pm

Original but weird !

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:30pm

Interesting I won though ^.^

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:02pm

Well done if u won (except if it wasn't deliberatly). :) it can happen.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57pm

Hello again! Could you try running my game one more time? It comes with all DLLs now :P Please?

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:10pm

Sure!

h.attila says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:47am

It's kinda like Terry Cavanagh's game, Don't Look Back, but this one is on acid or something. :)
Props for the graphics and overall mood of the game, but I'm not even going to pretend that I fully understood what was going on.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:45pm

pretty interesting. I liked the mood, pretty dark :)

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:31am

Is this real life? Well done on completing LD25!

dray says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:07pm

I played, understand nothing, win, replayed, understand a little more, win, a replayed understand the fatality of the game. quit. I like it as an art game. Thanks

Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:13pm

Wat.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:52am

:) Yeah i didn't have time to put a quite important screen so you may win even if you don't understand nothing.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:55pm

Not entirely sure if it fits the theme as Orpheus was just stupid when he looked back . I kind of like how you have to lose the game to play Eurydice but found the controls really confusing.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Do nothing: win, maybe
Press left: lose, escape: slide show, hold escape: win

More an art piece / statement than a game, finish it and show us the full vision.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]