December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bank robbing game

by a_user - 48 Hour Compo Entry

if it is not working, upgrade your java version!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1189Coolness0%

Comments

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 15, 2012 @ 4:51pm

It says it couldn't find the main class LD25?

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:10pm

Same as dan

a_user says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:41pm

I don't understand why you are getting the errors, it works for me. I will try to fix it though.

a_user says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:57am

I found the error. You have an out of date version. install the latest java version and it should work. I got that error when running on a different computer with java 6. I upgraded that computer to java 7 and it worked fine.

Xavier says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:01am

doesn't work for me :-/ and I can't update to java 7 on this laptop. Sorry.

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 8:07pm

Adf.ly doesn't work for me- can you provide a direct link?

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:54am

It worked for me, but I wasn't sure what to do. I tried robbing a bank, but my money just kept going negative.

A lot of people aren't going to appreciate being redirected to adf.ly and then to mediafire for a Ludum Dare game. You might consider the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. We let you use your own (unobtrusive, unlike adf.ly and mediafire) ads, but honestly I'd work on the gameplay before thinking about monetizing this.

a_user says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 2:12am

KevinWorkman, I use adf.ly so i can make some money off of my games without actually selling them. I realize my game is one of the worst ones here. (It only took me 3 or 4 hours to write) As for your money going down, it is supposed to. Some of the banks are harder to rob then others, and you need to buy some upgrade points to have a decent chance of robbing them. Generally, the less money($) signs a bank has on it, the lower chances of robbing it successfully. I am aware that the small money symbols on the bank is unfortunately hard to see.

a_user says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 2:14am

JoeCool17, direct link is http://www.mediafire.com/?v0lygvarmdwwwio.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]