December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You Are Satan

by antonijn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare entry, so I hope y'all like it! I used C# and OpenTK to create all of it.

I've learnt a lot from it for the next LD, and maybe I'll join the jam then.

No instructions needed for the game, everything's self-explanatory.

Time lapse here: http://youtu.be/AitNvHMbpws

=============
NOTE: You will need to install OpenAL for this, if you haven't already (you probably have).

Windows: http://connect.creativelabs.com/openal/Downloads/oalinst.zip
OS-X: http://connect.creativelabs.com/openal/Downloads/OpenAL_Installer_OSX.dmg

On Linux/OS-X, you will also need to install Mono:

sudo apt-get install mono-complete
=============

=============
PS: I forgot to put something in: when you finally defeat God, it's supposed to say: "You took over the heavens and the earth on December the 21st 2012...", so yeah, you know that now.
=============

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#123Humor3.28
#162Theme3.67
#286Mood2.93
#301Overall3.11
#310Fun2.94
#366Graphics2.94
#375Audio2.39
#400Innovation2.78
#867Coolness39%

Comments

juaxix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:17pm

Come on, you are satan, with power unlimited!, ...you need to balance the batlle man...
Love the idea and language (i really need to learn from your coding).

Avenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:20pm

I can't start the game it crashes on startup, am i doing something wrong?

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:50pm

Can't rate this one, it doesn't load for whatever reason.

antonijn says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:56pm

@Avenger @GravityGames Have you unzipped it? Please run it from the command line and post the output.

antonijn says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:57pm

@juaxix Please don't learn from this code! It's really terrible, and this is not the way I would go about it normally.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:01pm

Why would you put the attack key right on top of the movement keys? Most games use WASD and mouse or arrow keys and keys on the left. This made an already tough game even more difficult. I had fun playing it, though... even just to see the next fight and read the little intro lines. FSM WAS A BASTARD!!!

jonathan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:16pm

Good fun, nice humour and spot on with the theme, although a little tricky. But i couldn't complete because my fork/trident would fall beyond reach to the left.

antonijn says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:19pm

@jonathan: Yeah, I didn't have time to fix that bug...

Gaeel says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:09pm

Won't run on my machine, no error just a silent quit, even from command line...

antonijn says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:12pm

@Gaeel: Have you installed OpenAL?

Granor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:09pm

I beat the game, wuhu! It was hard but fun to play. I would have changed the order of the Enemys, because Zeus is harder than the following 2.
Beating God is not imposible, but you have to find your own strategy and learn how to avoid this fork bug. Overall, a good game.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:49am

Hm, on Mac OS X 10.8.2 here, mono was preinstalled (to my surprise)
The game loads and shows the intro screen but does not proceed from there, pressing space (or any other key or mouse click) yields no response. Hm.. No console output either.

antonijn says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:08pm

zenumumbler: Yeah, I only have windows and linux, so I can't really test it on OS X. I blame the gaming library I use; it's terrible at HID.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:04pm

hehehe satan >:) great job man! :D

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Game crashes on startup :(

antonijn says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:54pm

sclark39: Could you please provide more details? Have you tried opening it from the command line? Have you installed OpenAL? Have you got .NET 4.0/Mono installed? On which operating system are you?

And this is not just for sclark39, this is to anyone who finds this game not working for them.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:20am

Crashes when ran. Getting "System.AccessViolationException" error. Windows 7 64bit.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:19am

Pretty good game, I like that there's a different mechanic on each fight. Compelled me to fight on. I manage to beat god! That fork kept getting stuck on the edge. No overuse of puns...thank god!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]