Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Jelly Hunt - bentog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first entry ever, and it's a very simple game. You slay cute and innocent balls of jelly called Jellypuffies and collect their jelly to throw in special signs that increase your score, while avoiding strong, invincible and orange jelly creatures called Jellycops.

View bentog's journal. | View all entries by bentog

Ratings

Coolness71%
#164Audio3.03
#220Graphics3.32
#363Humor2.53
#414Overall2.89
#423Fun2.73
#430Innovation2.70
#463Mood2.62
#643Theme2.46

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:29pm

Both cool & simple at the same time.

The graphics on the bubbles are great ;)

chribbe1 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:16pm

Cool! There's alot of bubbles there, i like that. Would have been more fun if it was a bit more obvious when you're punching. + For the in game instructions :)

CptBubbles says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:16pm

I like the art and the idea is quite original, but you really shouldn't instantiate that many objects in Unity. The game is pretty much unplayable for me :(

Frolacosta says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Loved the music and graphical style!
I couldn't quite understand why I kept dying but I enjoyed it anyway haha

gilesa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:19pm

The way the Jelly Cop leaps at you is scary! Wish there was some way you could either kill him or slow him down. Maybe by throwing jellies at him?

Mysterarts says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:28pm

Jellycops > Jack Nicholson :D
Good Job ;)

bentog says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:09pm

Frolacosta: you died a lot because a Jellycop caught you!

pereubu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:19pm

the graphics are nice and minimalistic, the feeling of the gameplay is neat ( i was always looking behind me :3 )
I just think the music was a bit unjustified
Great job for a first LD :D

Winterblood says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:21pm

Cute graphics, like the idea of having to bank your kills by throwing stuff at the scoreboard. However, I kept dying with no warning or apparent reason, and no indication what to do differently to avoid dying...

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:23pm

Would have been nice to have a HUD showing the collected jelly and so.

bentog says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:26pm

Thank you all for the comments! I wish I had added everything you mentioned, but I didn't have time to do so. Next LD I'll make a much better game!

strong99 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:31pm

Graphics fits the jelly style :D I wish I heard them squeak being an evil villain :D And agreed with gilesa! I tried that, throwing jellies at them in a reflex! They just seemed to look more angry and multiplying.

Overall a nice game, spent way too much time punching jellies today ;)

saampahlavan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:49pm

the openness of the world is great and the cop blobs would creep up on me. wasn't sure how I would die sometimes. would also love to see more feedback when the innocent blobs die.

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:05pm

Evading the jellycops was the most enjoyable part. You could add a sound effect for when they land and perhaps a screen shake effect, just to let the player know how close they are.

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Nice game, only problem I had was that movement was so slidy I couldn't hardly stop moving

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Cheers!

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:40pm

Funny game, but I couldn't understand why I kept dying!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:55pm

Was a bit baffled at first with how was dead and the jellies falling from the sky. Once got going didn't actually enjoy playing the game as much as a slip and slide showdown with the Jelly Cops. If only their was a way to defeat them! Good job and keep it up!

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:03pm

nice, you should develop it further.

Loren says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:32am

Nice music and art :) Very cute game

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Good music, fun & simple concept. I would have liked to see more feedback when punching them and picking up the jelly beans, I wasn't sure if it was working or not.

p.s. Thanks for checking out my game!

raincole says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:27pm

The background music is amazing! It would be better if you add some GUI to notice me how many HP I have.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:24am

Cute graphics! Love the jellies, and it's humorous to see how they're rendered. I didn't understand why I kept dying, but it was a fairly enjoyable game to play anyways. Great work. :)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:16pm

Would be fun if the Jellycops just patrol and have to catch you in the act and then start chasing you. Odd scoring mechanism but it works! Odd music.

Zener says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Quite funny once I undestood the mechanic. Graphics and audio are great too!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]