December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Asteroids Backwards

by CurtisOfTheDark - Jam Entry

Sadly, we were unable to finish the game, but considering this is our first Ludum Dare (defnitely not our last), and our first attempt at a game, it was a great experience! Original Music!

Grab the asteroids and fling them at the ship.

Note: Currently does not work on tablet

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#136Innovation(Jam)3.00
#148Audio(Jam)2.88
#220Theme(Jam)2.96
#278Humor(Jam)1.83
#292Mood(Jam)2.07
#315Overall(Jam)2.08
#318Graphics(Jam)1.82
#319Fun(Jam)1.73
#776Coolness45%

Comments

newton64 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:02am

Sounds like a pretty cool concept. Would it have run on a tablet, or is it mouse-driven? Anyway, keep at the LD's -- they're an insanely good learning experience.

Eelfroth says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:37pm

Wait... where is the download link?

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:04pm

+1 cool concept. With a little ship AI (movin' + shootin') this would be fun.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:22pm

Fun idea. The concept is there, and I think this would be a fun mobile game. Give the ship some awesome moves, and add a little bit, and this would truly shine. Keep at it!

Gazok says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:23pm

Lol, great idea!

Jiddo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:25pm

The seeds of a fun game are there but are far from blooming. I didn't hear any music?

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:41pm

The music should be working (Just checked to make sure). Ya the goal was to eventually run on mobile (tablet and phones). The screen is meant to adjust based on platform. With some AI we could have possibly called it a complete game( for ludum dare purposes), but alas, it was not in the stars for us ;)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:41pm

Let me know if the music is working for everyone else who checks it it!

Tsuk13 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:17pm

wish you could have finished. Like whats done

Zener says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:19pm

hahaha, great idea! Music is working for me, great one too.

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:06pm

great idea!

Sestren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:49am

Would have really liked to see this finished, it sounds like a fun concept. The music was very nice, too.

Mase says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:11pm

Shame it's unfinished. In my opinion the music should sound more electronic and have less bass, to complement the minimal visual style.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Great concept, really a shame that you could not finish it. It would not need much to become really fun. The music was great however. Keep at it!

Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:05pm

Like the music! Too bad that's pretty much all there is...

radmars says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 4:30am

Definitely has some potential if you add some "player" AI. FYI, music worked on Chrome 23.0.1271.97 but not Firefox 17.0.1.

Jacic says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:18am

With some work, this could be a great game! I love the idea. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]