December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Adventures of Master Bad Guy

by BipoleMoment - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game took far too long for what it turned out to be. There is no plot, but you are undisputedly a bad guy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#155Humor3.15
#483Theme2.93
#529Fun2.50
#599Mood2.31
#620Overall2.50
#679Graphics2.07
#709Innovation2.00
#1012Coolness26%

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:52pm

Had to Install, an it was an ok game.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Couldn't get PyGame to install properly, so I couldn't play.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:59am

Some tips, one pygame dev to another:
.Try Cx_Freeze for compiling python files to windows executables.
.Use the file extention ".pyw" instead of ".py" to remove the console window.

BipoleMoment says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Thanks for the tips guys!!

And oddly enough, sometimes it works for people, sometimes it doesn't.

If pygame won't install, try another installer from http://www.lfd.uci.edu/~gohlke/pythonlibs/#pygame . It might be specific to your system. I don't know, really.

MortalWombat says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Runs like a charm under linux (if you've got pygame installed)!

I actually chuckled because it was all so clumsily executed :)
Nice one! ;)

Retroid says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:42pm

I don't know why but this game made me laugh!

goerp says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:58pm

haha, this game was bad! Bad game!
I liked it, although I cannot understand why. You made a few scenes some sprites, you made music (more than one!) so all in all a commendable effort.
And it made me laugh.

Ed Okonik says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:19pm

So bad, it's good! Funny too. Kudos on using Python for development.

BipoleMoment says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww thanks guys!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]